Preview: Oldham and Payton on verge of British Cycling National Trophy triumph

Preview: Oldham and Payton on verge of British Cycling National Trophy triumph

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Shrewsbury Sports Village, Shrewsbury
Event: 5 January 2014

| | | 

The 2013-14 British Cycling National Trophy concludes on Sunday at Shrewsbury Sports Village.

The last in six rounds of cyclo-cross action will not only see the overall winners crowned but act as a prelude to the 2014 British Cycling National Cyclo-Cross Championships, which take place on 11-12 January in Derby.

Paul Oldham (Team Hope Factory Racing) leads the elite men’s contest, 36 points clear of Endura MTB Racing’s Oli Beckingsale who is competing in his last National Trophy race.

Oldham dominated the early stages of the series with victories in Abergavenny, Southampton and Durham before British champion Ian Field, who isn’t listed to start in Shrewsbury, won in Milton Keynes and Bradford.

Elite men's standings

1. Paul Oldham 220
2. Oli Beckingsale 184
3. Steven James 168

But barring an extraordinary result, Oldham should regain the crown from incumbent champion Beckingsale with 50 points available to the race winner. Steven James, currently leading the under 23 standings, is best positioned to take third place after a solid series which included second place at round four.

In the women’s competition, Hannah Payton (The Kinesis Morvelo Project) has finished in the top two in all five rounds so far, with victories in Durham and Bradford helping the 19-year-old establish a 22-point advantage over second place Merce Pacios Pujadó (Blue Motors).

Annabel Simpson (Team Hope Factory Racing) completes the top three with impressive junior rider Abby-Mae Parkinson, Great Britain mountain bike rider Bethany Crumpton (Hargroves Cycles) and the experienced Tracy Moseley (Malvern Cycle Sport) set to start in a competitive field.

Women's standings

1. Hannah Payton 182
2. Merce Pacios Pujado 160
3. Annabel Simpson 139

Six points behind Steven James in the under 23 men’s category sit Adam Martin (Metaltek - Knights of Old RT) and Ben Sumner (Beeline Bicycles RT).

All three are in the hunt for the title although if James can replicate his form from the previous two rounds - which he won - Martin and Sumner will be battling for second.

Sean Dunlea (Ciclos Uno) is poised to take the junior men’s title while Dan Tulett (Hargroves Cycles) goes in search of a flawless series in the under 16 boys category having already wrapped up the title with five wins in five.

The under 16 girls competition is less clear-cut. Charlotte Broughton (MG Décor) triumphed in the first three races but her lead has been reduced to 18 points by Jessica Roberts (RST Racing Team) courtesy of back-to-back wins, though a top three finish for Broughton would guarantee her the series.

Craig Rogers (Birkenhead North End CC) leads the under 14 boys category by 19 points from Euan Cameron (East Bradford CC) while Lucy Horrocks (Team Hope Factory Racing) can make it four wins in a row as she looks to secure the under 14 girls title.

Steven Davis (Hargroves Cycles) and Darren Atkins (Team Jewson) lead the veterans over 50s and 40s competitions respectively.

Racing begins at 10.30am with the women’s event starting at 11.31am and elite men’s race at 2.30pm.