Cross: Fletcher secures convincing victory in Notts and Derby R12

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Thornbridge Centre, Bakewell, Derbyshire
Event: 29 December 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports
Photos: Ray Stuart

Orange Monkey-Cannondale rider David Fletcher secured a convincing victory in the 12th round of the SRAM Notts and Derby League, the Circuit of the Moor based at the Thornbridge Centre at Bakewell in Derbyshire on Saturday.

The 23-year-old, from nearby Edwinstowe in Nottingham, crossed the line 1-19 ahead of his nearest rival in the seniors race to secure his fourth victory in the regional league, following wins in rounds one, five, six and seven.

Fletcher held off veteran Nick Craig (Scott UK) for the win, while Craig was almost a minute ahead of third-placed Tom Payton (Isla Bikes), the 22-year-old from Kingswinford in the Midlands.

The seniors covered seven laps of a challenging course, which was made worse by the muddy conditions.

Tom Payton’s younger sister Hannah, the 18-year-old Kinesis Morvelo Project rider, secured victory in the women’s race, holding off veteran Caroline Mansfield (Nottingham Clarion) for the win while Phoebe Sneddon (Mule Bar Girls) took third.

There was a thrilling finish to the youth race (pictured above), with Will Gascoyne (Matlock CC) taking the win after his rival Tom Weeds (Derby Mercury RC) fell in a muddy sprint finish. The pair had been shoulder to shoulder coming into the final corner but Weeds came to grief, just pulling himself upright and over the line in time to salvage second spot.

Beacon Wheelers rider Connie Hurton was the first girl, the 13-year-old riding well to take 13th overall in the youth race.

The SRAM Notts and Derby League continues on January 19 with round 13 at Darley Moor in Derbyshire.


1 David Fletcher (Orange Monkey-Cannondale) 50:45
2 Nick Craig (Scott UK) @ 1:19
3 Tom Payton (Isla Bikes) @ 2:16
4 Tom Last (Sigma Sport) @ 2:38
5 Mike Simpson (GS Henley) @ 3:15
6 Oliver Watson (Derwent Valley ATC) @ 3:48
7 Chris Metcalfe (Charge Bikes) @ 3:51
8 Keith Murray (Scott UK) @ 3:55
9 Andy Naylor (Fossa Racing) @ 4:04
10 James Thompson (Hope Factory Racing) @ 4:47

Veterans: Nick Craig. Under-23s: Oliver Watson. Juniors: Will Perrett (Heanor Clarion).

1 Hannah Payton (Kinesis Morvelo Project)
2 Caroline Mansfield (Nottingham Clarion)
3 Phoebe Sneddon (Mule Bar Girls)

1 Will Gascoyne (Matlock CC) 18:36
2 Tom Weeds (Derby Mercury RC) @ same time
3 Jake Poole (Cycleshack) @ 34sec
4 Greg Booker (Matlock CC) @ 1:08
5 Kieran Howarth (Nottingham Clarion) @ 2:09
6 Tim James (Bourne Wheelers) @ 2:40

Under-14s: Cameron Orr (Matlock CC). Girls: Connie Hurton (Beacon Wheelers).

1 Tim Elsmore (Matlock CC) 12:49
2 Charlie Craig (Scott UK) @ 2sec
3 Ben Dowson (Hetton Hawks) @ 16sec

1 Sam Gould (Matlock CC) 7:35
2 Alex Gordon (Matlock CC) @ 40sec
3 Fred Shenton (Beeston CC) @ 1:06

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.