News: Vets Individual Champs Draw

News: Vets Individual Champs Draw

Home » Cycle speedway

News: British Veteran 50+ Individual Champs Draw Announced

Source: British Cycling

The draw has been made for the Veteran 50+ Individual Championship, to take place at Bury on Saturday 11th July. Twenty-three entries were received, and there will therefore be a pre-qualifier at 1:00 pm, with the 16 qualifiers proceeding to the final at 3:00 pm.

1 Ian Lawrence Filton
2 Stephen Harvie East London
3 Phillip Hemming Sandwell
4 Denis Hubble East London
5 Fred Rothwell Pedalsport
6 Mike Parkins* Bourne Wheelers
7 Richard Pawson Hull
8 Bob Barber Stockport 2006
9 George Hughes East London
10 Colin Wheeler* Southampton
11 Les Stevens East London
12 Ian Swanborough Hull
13 David Palfreyman Filton
14 Mike Burgess Filton
15 Nick Stephens East London
16 Mick Pedley Wednesfield
17 Phil Widdas Birmingham
18 Mike Hack Astley & Tyldesley
19 John Murphy* Edinburgh
20 John Whiting* Bury
21 Paul Timms Birmingham
22 Dave Murphy Poole
23 Chic Mackie* Edinburgh

Those riders denoted by an asterisk* also qualify for the integral Veteran 60+ Championship. Should less than three riders in this category qualify for the last sixteen, then the medal placings of the 60+ category non-qualifiers will be determined by a run-off.

British Under 16 Club Championship

The draw has also been made for the Under 16 Championship, to take place at Newport on Saturday 11th July. Twelve entries were received, and there will therefore be three four team semi-final matches, at 12 noon, 1.00 pm and 2.00 pm. The winner of each semi-final, plus the second placed team with the highest points total will progress to the final at 3:30 pm.

Semi-final 1: 12 noon
1. Bretford
2. Poole
3. Sandwell
4. Newport

Semi-final 2: 1:00 pm
1. Exeter
2. East Newport
3. Horspath
4. Stockport 2006

Semi-final 3: 2:00 pm
1. Ipswich
2. Hethersett
3. Sheffield
4. Wednesfield

The draw for both competitions took place on Sunday 14th June, conducted and witnessed by members of the Bury and Heckmondwike clubs and Competitions Manager Pete Ward.