2020 National Cyclo-cross Championships: Preview

2020 National Cyclo-cross Championships: Preview

Home » Cyclo-cross » National Cyclo-cross Championships

Tom Pidcock will defend his title at the HSBC UK | National Cyclo-cross Championships in Shrewsbury next weekend.


Pidcock, who won the elite men’s race last year and has since stepped up to the elite category at international level, will look to retain his title in the face of competition from the likes of five-time champion Ian Field, and 2019 medallists Ben Turner and Thomas Mein, who are still under-23s.

The women’s race will see a brand-new national champion crowned, following the recent retirements of Helen Wyman and Nikki Brammeier, who have shared the title for the last 14 years.

The race will see the hugely promising crop of young racers battle for the title, with the likes of Beth Crumpton, HSBC UK | National Trophy winner Ffion James, European under-23 silver medallist Anna Kay – who split Brammeier and Wyman on the elite podium last year – and Hattie Harnden among the names to watch out for.

As ever, the full set of titles across the age categories will be decided throughout the weekend, with the action beginning with the veteran men’s and women’s races on Saturday morning.

In the afternoon, Zoe Backstedt will defend her girls’ under-16 crown, against, amongst others, reigning under-14 champion Libby Bell. The equivalent boys’ champion, Max Greensill, also makes the step up in age category, competing for the under-16 title which was won last year by Corran Carrick-Anderson.

The junior races will then be contested on Sunday morning, with HSBC UK | National Trophy winner Daniel Barnes looking to add the men’s national title to his series win.