Race guide: 2018 HSBC UK | National Cyclo-cross Championships

Race guide: 2018 HSBC UK | National Cyclo-cross Championships

Home » Cyclo-cross » National Cyclo-cross Championships

The 2018 HSBC UK | National Cyclo-cross Championships take place on 13-14 January at Sunderland’s Hetton Lyons Country Park.

New for 2018, the championships will be streamed live on Sunday on the British Cycling website and Facebook, so that fans across the country can enjoy every slip, slide and off-camber skid as Britain’s best race for national titles.

Ones to watch


Start list

How to follow

Ones to watch

Elite women

Nikki Brammeier will be aiming for a third successive British cyclo-cross title

The 2018 elite women’s race promises to be fiercely contested, as UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup top-10 regulars Nikki Brammeier (MUDIIITA Canyon) and Helen Wyman (Xypex - Verge Sport) prepare to do battle for the national title, after Wyman missed the 2017 edition through injury.

Storey Racing’s Bethany Crumpton will also be on the starting line looking to trouble the podium, bolstered by her maiden and resounding HSBC UK | Cyclo-Cross National Trophy series victory in Ipswich.

Elite men

Ian Field in action at the HSBC UK | National Trophy Cyclo-Cross

Ian Field has five national cyclo-cross titles to his name and the Hargroves-Ridley-Montezuma rider will be looking to make it an even six in 2018.

Former champion Liam Killeen (Malvern Cycle Sport) and British mountain bike cross-country champion Grant Ferguson (CST American Eagle) will both be hoping to disrupt Field’s plans however, as will David Fletcher (Sherwood Pines Cycles- Forme) and Steven James (Hope Factory Racing), who finished fourth and fifth in the National Trophy series respectively, after a season of strong performances.

Under-23 and junior women

Ffion James finished second in the HSBC UK | National Trophy Cyclo-Cross

Reigning champion Evie Richards (Trek Factory Racing) looks to be the favourite heading into the under-23 women’s race, her first elite level world cup victory earlier this season solidifying her potential to compete at the very top level.

But the under-23 women’s event is brimming with emerging talent, including National Trophy series second and third-place finishers Ffion James (Abergavenny RC) and Anna Kay (EDCO Continental).

Also taking to the start line will be Sophie Wright (100% Me), who had continued success across multiple disciplines in 2017, overcoming significant health setbacks in order to do so.

The one to watch in the junior women’s race will be Harriet Harndon - the T-mo Racing youngster topped the senior podium in the third round of the National Trophy this season and will have a British title in her sights on Sunday.

Under-23 men

Tom Pidcock racing at the HSBC UK | National Trophy Cyclo-Cross

The under-23 men’s competition is stacked with world class talent; junior world champion Tom Pidcock (Telenet Fidea Lions) has made a very successful step up to under-23 competition this season, winning the UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup series with four race victories.

Pidcock took the rainbow jersey in 2017 but remarkably was joined by his Great Britain Cycling Team teammates Dan Tulett (Specialized Racing) and Ben Turner (Beobank-Corendon) in the silver and bronze medal spots respectively. The trio will challenge for the British title in Hetton Lyons before heading to the Netherlands to race against the best in the world once again.

Billy Harding (PH-MAS/Paul Milnes/Oldfield ERT) was the victor in 2017 and, after topping the standings at the National Trophy, will want to put his good form to the test.

Junior men

The name Tulett is fast becoming synonymous with top cyclo-cross riders, as younger brother Ben (Beeline Bicycles RT) has been enjoying an excellent season, including a third-place finish at the world cup in Namur.

Sean Flynn is an exciting young rider, his season has included a National Trophy round victory and a fifth-place finish at the international Scheldecross race - the Edinburgh RC rider has podium potential in Sunderland.

The National Trophy junior title was won by Cameron Mason; the Leslie Bike Shop/Bikers Boutique rider will be hoping to add a national champion’s jersey to his collection.


Saturday 13 January

9:30am: Veteran women 

11:00am: Veteran men 50+

12:15pm: Youth under-16 girls

1:15pm: Youth under-16 boys
 and youth under-14 boys

2:30pm: Veteran men 40-49

Sunday 14 January

9:30am: Under-23 women

10:45am: Under-23 men

12noon: Junior men

1:15pm: Elite women

2:30pm: Elite men

Start list

Start list

How to follow

  • Watch live on the British Cycling website, on Facebook and on YouTube.
  • Follow @BritishCycling on Twitter for race updates.
  • Race reports, galleries and highlights videos to follow on British Cycling website.