Guide: 2017 HSBC UK | National Cyclo-Cross Championships

Guide: 2017 HSBC UK | National Cyclo-Cross Championships

Home » Cyclo-cross » National Cyclo-cross Championships

The HSBC UK | National Cyclo-Cross Championships returns to Bradford’s Peel Park on 7-8 January 2017 after a four-year absence.

The organisers promise a new-look course; one filled with thrills and spills and, hopefully, plenty of good Yorkshire mud.

Ones to watch

Schedule and start list


How to follow

Ones to watch

Elite men

2016 champion: Liam Killeen

Liam Killeen (Malvern Cycle Sport) took his first British title in cyclo-cross in 2016 but Ian Field is the man in form this season and will be looking to add to his four national titles after his HSBC UK Cyclo-Cross National Trophy win in December.

Ian Field

Mountain bike fans will be delighted to see Rio Olympian Grant ‘The Frog’ Ferguson (CST Brentjens MTB Racing) on his cyclo-cross bike in Bradford, after his gutsy performance on the tough Brazilian course.

Elite women

2016 champion: Nikki Brammeier

Reigning champion, Boels Dolmans Cycling Team’s Nikki Brammeier returns to racing in Bradford after an unfortunate crash in the opening stages of the European championships. Nine-time title winner Helen Wyman will not be present in Bradford as she continues her recovery from a broken collarbone.

Brammeier will have tough competition in the form of HSBC UK Cyclo-Cross National Trophy winner Hannah Payton who will be in the hunt for the title.

Hannah Payton

Under-23 men

2016 champion: Iain Paton

Last year’s champion, Iain Paton, is out of action with a broken wrist so the top spot on the podium will be there for the taking.

100% ME riders Frazer Clacherty and Mark McGuire will almost certainly figure at the head of the race, while Billy Harding (Oldfield/Paul Milnes Cycles ERT) and Joshua Waters (Velo Schils – Interbike RT) have both impressed in the senior races at the Cyclo-Cross National Trophy and could prove to be contenders.

Under-23 women and junior women

2016 champion: Evie Richards

All eyes will be on under-23 world champion Evie Richards as she races in the rainbow stripes for the last time before heading to defend her title in Luxembourg in two weeks’ time.

Evie Richards

Richards’ competition will come in the form of Great Britain Cycling Team Senior Academy rider Ella Connolly (100% ME) and the formidable James sisters Megan and Ffion (Abergavenny Road Club).

The stacked under-23 field also includes junior rider and regular podium finisher Emily Wadsworth, and Amira Mellor (Next Wyman) who has been riding regularly on the continent, gaining world-class racing experience.

Junior men

2016 champion: Mark Donovan

After an exceptional season, it would be foolhardy to predict anyone but Tom Pidcock (Oldfield/ Paul Milnes Cycles ERT) pulling on the British champion’s jersey. European champion and world cup winner in Namur, Pidcock is certainly on a run of form.

However, the junior race is packed with talented riders, not least Ben Turner (HMT with JLT Condor) – himself seventh at the European championships – and last year’s winner Mark Donovan (Wheelbase Altura MGD).

Schedule and start lists

Saturday 7 January

  • Race 1: 9:30am - Veteran women
  • Race 2: 11am - Veteran men 50+
  • Race 3: 12.15pm – Youth under-16 and under-14 girls
  • Race 4: 1.15pm – Youth under-16 and under-14 boys
  • Race 5: 2.30pm – Veteran men

Sunday 8 January

  • Race 1: 9.30am – Under-23 men
  • Race 2: 10.45am – Under-23 women
  • Race 3: 12 noon – Junior men
  • Race 4: 1.15pm – Elite women
  • Race 5: 2.30pm – Elite men

Start list


HSBC UK National Cyclo-Cross Championships course map

The HSBC UK National Cyclo-Cross Championships returns to Peel Park in Bradford in 2017. The venue hosted the championships in 2009 and 2013.

The course will be a typical Bradford parkland combination of drier semi-woodland/grassland on the high side of the finish straight, with muddy and steep riding on the lower areas of the park.

How to follow

  • Follow Sunday’s racing live with race updates and images in our HSBC UK National Cyclo-Cross Championships live blog.
  • Report, results, reaction, video and images on the British Cycling website.
  • Follow @BritishCycling on Twitter for updates throughout the weekend.
  • Highlights of the championships will be shown on Eurosport on Friday 13 January at 6.30pm.