First-day winners crowned at HSBC UK | British BMX Championships

First-day winners crowned at HSBC UK | British BMX Championships


There were thrills and spills, dramatic finishes and a family one-two on the first day of the HSBC UK | British BMX Championships in Derby today.

On a glorious day at Alvaston Park, 21 categories were decided on what was the first of two days of competition.

Among the winners was Molly Shearer, who added to her impressive palmares by successfully defending her 17-29 Female Cruiser title.

Afterwards, she said:

“It feels great but it’s a surprise, really – my focus is on the track at the moment, but I came here to have fun and hopefully defend my title.”

The crowd had four Derby-based winners to cheer (brothers Itai and Elisha Jamera, Lotte Etmane and Jay Bovill), while also benefiting from the Midlands support was Nottingham’s Lily Chiziwa, who won the 13-16 Female Cruiser final.

She said:

“The support for the Midlands riders was great. It feels amazing to win – I’ve never got a British title or first in a national series, so this feels great.”

Elsewhere, Ian Archibald edged out Andrew Shaw to win the 45-49 Male Cruiser category in what was the closest finish of the day, while Zoltan Buday beat brother Adam to win the 40-44 Male Cruiser final.

The championships continue tomorrow, with 22 further categories to be decided, including Junior Men, Superclass Men and Championship Women.

Podium placings:

Female 6

1 Lilly Perrie
2 Brooke Fawcett
3 Poppy Bishop

Male 6

1 Itai Jameira
2 Oliver Merron
3 Isaac Smith

Female 7

1 Amelie Eaton
2 Daisy Taylor-Knight
3 Naya O’Connell

Male 7

1 Harry Donald
2 Joshua Sylvester
3 Ethan Rodgers

Female 8

1 Lottie Brown
2 Amelia Everly
3 Hollie Nolan

Male 8

1 Elisha Jamera
2 Coby Wrayford
3 Oliver Sherlock

Female 9

1 Emie Seward
2 Lexi White
3 Amelia McBride

Male 9

1 Bradley James
2 Benjamin Larkins
3 Noah Irons

Female 10

1 Lotte Etmane
2 Laurie Anne Carruthers
3 Ruby Moores

Male 10

1 James Clitheroe
2 Noah Everly
3 Jamie Rabbett

13-16 Female Cruiser

1 Lily Chiziwa
2 Molly Nice
3 Skye Mavolwane Wright

17-29 Female Cruiser

1 Molly Shearer
2 Morgan Haslam
3 Olivia Firth

30+ Female Cruiser

1 Shahnaz Gullon
2 Michelle Eaton
3 Tabitha Rendall

13-14 Male Cruiser

1 Arlo Phelan
2 Adam Gilbert
3 Rocky O’Brien

15-16 Male Cruiser

1 Jay Bovill
2 Alex Brookes
3 Oliver Cope

30-39 Male Cruiser

1 Benjamin Martinez
2 Martin Brown
3 Mario Berno

40-44 Male Cruiser

1 Zoltan Buday
2 Adam Buday
3 Graham Stanley

45-49 Male Cruiser

1 Ian Archibald
2 Andrew Shaw
3 Darren Reidy

50+ Cruiser

1 Michael Gough
2 Jai Kemp
3 James Yeo

9-12 Male Cruiser

1 Billy Brown
2 Lewis Fletcher
3 Zak Greene

17-29 Male Cruiser

1 Callum Knight
2 Oliver Cutmore
3 Joe Parr