Derby to host 2019 HSBC UK | National BMX Championships

Derby to host 2019 HSBC UK | National BMX Championships


The 2019 HSBC UK | British BMX Championships will be held in Derby, British Cycling has announced.

The country’s best BMX riders will compete for the prestigious title of British champion at Alvaston Park over the weekend of August 24 and 25.

The championships will represent the third time in four years that Derby BMX Club has hosted the showpiece of the domestic BMX calendar – Bethany Shriever and current European champion Kyle Evans won the elite titles the last time that the club staged the championships, in 2017.

British Cycling has also confirmed the dates for the HSBC UK | BMX National Series, which are as follows:

Rounds 1 and 2: HSBC UK National Cycling Centre, Manchester – March 16-17

Rounds 3 and 4: Cyclopark, Kent – April 13-14

Rounds 5 and 6: Birmingham – May 18-19

Rounds 7 and 8: Peckham – June 15-16

Rounds 9 and 10: Glasgow – July 6-7

Rounds 11 and 12: Bournemouth – August 10-11

While retaining its position as the traditional opening event of the series, riders will get a different experience for rounds 1 and 2 in Manchester, with the HSBC UK National Cycling Centre’s BMX track having recently been modified. Riders will get the opportunity to compete on the new track just a month before the world’s best race at Manchester round of the UCI BMX Supercross World Cup.

The series will also visit Glasgow – venue for this year’s European Championships – for the second time, and return to Bournemouth for the first time since 2010.