Track: Welwyn League latest results


Location: Gosling Sports Park, Welwyn
Event: 24 May 2012
Report: Peter Waghorn

The warm sunny evening produced a good number of competitors in both the senior and youth categories but the start of the meeting was delayed due to a crash in the pre-race warm up period and a visit from the paramedics and an ambulance.

No major casualties but a reduced event programme for the evening due to the time loss.

Ollie Plumley was in good form in the Senior B League winning both the opening 10 lap scratch and the 10 lap Block Handicap with a strong sprint finish

John McClelland won the opening Senior A League 10 lap scratch from young Kristian Woolf who was in sparkling form for the whole evening. The opening laps of the 10 lap Block Pursuit saw the odd numbers led by Kristian Woolf open up a small lead but the group then fragmented following pressure from the more co-ordinated Even number group who piled on the pressure to come home in the fastest time of the year equivalent to just over 30mph. At the line John McLelland won from Josh Maynard and Trevor Burke.

The closing 10 mile was a cracker – a three man group – Mike Broadwith, Kristian Woolf and Sam Gilzean attacked maintained a high pace and built up a sizeable lead and by half distance were almost lapping the bunch. Sam Gilzean lost contact and the bunch saw the danger and split in two.

The trio eliminated the residue of the bunch and within a few laps caught the field. With three laps left Broadwith attacked again Woolf got across to join him and then out sprinted him at the line to conclude an excellent race and high praise for the leading duo.

In the youth categories Luke Morgan and Mitchell Powell dominated the A and BC groups.

Honours in the CDE group went to Tom Durkin, Amy Mavelly and Kathryn Anderson


Senior A:
10 lap scratch – John McClelland (Prestige) Kristian Woolf (Prestige) Trevor Burke (Finchley RT)
10 lap Block Pursuit – John McClelland (Prestige) Josh Maynard (Welwyn Whs) Trevor Burke (Finchley
10 mile – Kristian Woolf (Prestige) Mike Broadwith (Shorter Rochford) John McClelland (Prestige)

Senior B:
10 lap scr – Ollie Plumley (Welwyn Whs) Ken Roesner (Kings Lynn) Simon Best (North Road)
10 lap Block Handicap – Ollie Plumley (Welwyn Whs) Richard Norris (Colchester) Ken Roesner (Kings Lynn)

Youth A:
10 lap scratch – Luke Morgan, Jordan Mooney, Lucy Harper (all Welwyn)
Devil – Luke Morgan, Sam Dossett, Jordan Mooney (all Welwyn)
6 lap handicap – Luke Morgan, Bethany Hayward, Jordan Mooney (all Welwyn)

Youth BC:
5 lap scr – Mitchell Powell (Chelmer), Frank Longstaff (Colchester), Adam Looker (Colchester)
Devil – Mitchell Powell (Chelmer), Frank Longstaff (Colchester), James Jackson (Colchester)
5 Lap H’Cap – Glen Dossett, Michael Parry, Will Raymond (all Welwyn)

Youth CDE:
3 lap scr – Tom Street, Alexi Edward, Millie Gage (all Welwyn)
3 lap H’cap A – Alexi Edwards, Tom Street, Tom Durkin (all Welwyn)
4 lap H’cap – Alexi Edwards, Kathryn Anderson, Tom Street (all Welwyn)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.