Track: Lambton extends lead in Lyme

Track: Lambton extends lead in Lyme


Location: Lyme Valley Stadium, Newcastle-under-Lyme
Event: 4th August 2011
Report: Chris Pyatt


The latest round of the Brooks Cycles Track League at Newcastle-under-Lyme was contested after a forecast of rain never materialised and the 50 riders were attended were rewarded with a full programme of racing.

The sprint races saw Barney Swinnerton of Science in Sport top score with eight points in winning the team sprint, 200m time trial and the sprint final. These points also saw him re-take the overall lead in the sprinters league table.

The A class endurance saw Robert Lambton (Brooks Cycles) increase his overall lead as he scored seven and a half points in winning the opening eight lap scratch and the course de primes race. Alex Simmons (Lyme RC) also showed well in winning the 10 mile scratch and a second place in the eight lap scratch.

The B league saw the best turnout of the groups with Jack Fearon (Weaver Valley CC) taking full advantage of the top six riders in the league being absent as he scored eight points in winning the eight lap and 10 mile scratch events.

The youth races saw Joel Partington continue to dominate the league as he won all four races and in doing so took his points total for the year to over the 100 mark.

We are now in to the holiday season however there was a healthy turnout of 21 riders with two new riders making this the most successful season so far in the history of this competition at Newcastle. The top point's scorers in each league were as follows:

Group 1 Bradley Hill Lyme RC 6 points

Group 2 Sam Hall 9 points

Group 3 Finlay Edwards, Sebastian Booth and Ellie Bloomer 9 points



Group 1
Race 1
1. Bradley Hill (Lyme RC)
2. Kieran Morris (Mid Shropshire Wheelers)
3. Megan Williams (Lyme RC)
Race 2
1. Megan Williams
2. Kieran Morris
3. Bradley Hill
Race 3
1. James Meah
2. Brandon McMillan (Lyme RC)
3. Bradley Hill

Group 2
Race 1
1. Sam Hall
2. Hollie Mulroy (Congleton CC)
3. Orlanda Jones
Race 2
1. Sam Hall
2. Orlanda Jones
3. Hollie Mulroy
Race 3
1st Harry Ford
2nd Sam Hall
3rd Niamh Harris

Group 3
Race 1
1. Finlay Edwards
2. Jack Davies
3. Sebastian Booth
Race 2
1. Holly Chatterton Lyme RC
2. Natasha Sandbach
3. Sebastian Booth
Race 3
1. Ellie Bloomer Lyme RC
2. Lewis Hubball
3. Oliver Cashmore

Main League

Youth 200m TT
1. Joel Partington (Lyme RC)
2. Conner Fearon (Weaver Valley CC)
3. Sallie Birchall (Lyme RC)

A Class Endurance 8 lap scratch
1st Robert Lambton (Brooks Cycles)
2nd Alex Simmons (Lyme RC)
3rd Barry Charlton (Lyme RC)

B Class 8 Lap Scartch
1st Jack Fearon (Weaver Valley CC)
2nd Max Gethin (Hasren CC)
3rd Neil Clarke (VC Nottingham)

Youth Devil
1. Joel Partington
2. Sallie Birchall
3. Conner Fearon

A Sprinters Team Sprint
1. Barney Swinnerton (Science in Sport)
Sean Mayer (Lyme RC)
Louis Preston (Lyme RC)

A Sprinters 200m TT
1. Barney Swinnerton 11.96
2. Sean Mayer
3. Tom Powell 12.00

Youth Points
1. Joel Partington
2. Sallie Birchall
3. Conner Fearon

A Endurance Course De Primes
1st Robert Lambton
2nd Barry Charlton

B Class Course de Primes
1. Sam Birchall Velocity RT
2. Neil Clarke

A Sprinters Sprint Final
1. Barney Swinnerton
2. Tom Powell (Newcastle RC 2001)
3. Sassan Emadi (Tunstall Wheelers)

Youth Scratch
1. Joel Partington
2. Conner Fearon
3. Ashleigh Williams (Lyme RC)

10 Mile Scratch
1. Alex Simmons
2. Barry Charlton
3. Robert Lambton

B Class
1. Jack Fearon
2. Neil Clarke
3. Sam Birchall