Report: Brooks Cycles Track League


Bookmark    and Share  Follow on Follow       British Cycling on Facebook  Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       Youtube Channel Visit our       images on Flickr

Brooks Cycles Track League (July 8)

Story posted July 12, by Chris Pyatt

The rain that was threatened never came at the latest round of the Brooks Cycles Track League at Newcastle Under Lyme Track League on July 8. It was a good turnout considering other distractions elsewhere on the night and saw A class rider Matthew Rotherham (Sportcity Velo) take over the overall lead in the league after he scored 9 points on the night.

He had wins in the opening 10 lap Scratch and the Win and Out. Rotherham also took a fine second in the Keirin league event where the win went to Tom Powell of Newcastle RC whose sprinting prowess is looking better each week. In third place in this event was Steve Cronshaw (Brereton Wheelers) who was fresh back from his two Silver medals in the National Masters Track Championship event. The other A Class event was the 10 mile Scratch where Robert Lambton (Brooks Cycles) controlled the race as he lapped the entire field with Lewis Balyckyi and Jess Wieckowski before taking the sprint for the victory.

The B Class events were wide open with league leader Ryan Whatmough not in attendance. Neil Cummins took full advantage of this by winning the 8 lap Scratch, Course de primes and taking a fine second in the 10 mile event. Sam Birchall of Lyme Rc won the Win and Out in a tight finish with Phil Houlton of Newcastle RC 2001. Phil had also competed in the Master's Championships and he too came away with two medals, a Silver and a Bronze.

The final 10 mile event was won by Joe Evans of Newcastle Rc 2001 who is starting to look an impressive rider. Despite being on Youth B gears he won a sprint finish from two other B riders who had broke away from the other riders at half distance.  The Youth events saw a good spread of points with Sean Mayer of Lyme RC top scoring with 7 points as he won the 200m TT and placed second in the Devil. He was also a member of the winning team sprint team. Joel Partington scored 5 points and retains the lead in the overall table.

The Freewheelers League saw a increase in riders this week with some very close racing from all twenty riders. The top point’s scorers in each group were as follows;

Group 1 Joel Partington, Lyme RC
Group 2 James Duncalf, Lyme RC
                Sadie Jones, Newcastle RC 2001
Group 3 Holly Mulroy


Group 1

Race 1
1st Joel Partington  Lyme RC
2nd Ashleigh Williams Lyme RC
3rd Megan Wynn  Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Ashleigh Williams
2nd Megan Wynn
3rd Joel Partington

Race 3
1st Joel Partington
2nd Sam Pattison  Lyme RC
3rd Megan Wynn

Race 4
1st Sam Pattison
2nd Joel Partington
3rd Megan Wynn

Group 2

Race 1
1st James Duncalf  Lyme RC
2nd Megan Williams  Lyme RC
3rd Oscar Crooks  Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Brandon McMillan         Lyme RC
2nd Sadie Jones   Newcastle RC 2001
3rd Bradley Hill  Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Aleshia Mellor  Eastlands Velo
2nd Bradley Hill
3rd Brandon McMillan

Race 4
1st Oscar Crooks
2nd James Duncalf
3rd Megan Williams

Race 5
1st Sadie Jones
2nd Bradley Hill
3rd Aleshia Mellor

Group 3

Race 1
1st Dylan Brownson  Lyme RC
2nd Ambrose Morris  Lyme RC
3rd Andrew Williams

Race 2
1st Isabel Mellor
2nd Holly Mulroy
3rd Emilia Brownson

Race 3
1st Holly Mulroy
2nd Dylan Brownson
3rd Emilia Brownson

Race 4
1st Holly Mulroy
2nd Andrew Williams
3rd Ambrose Morris


Youth 200m TT
1st Sean Mayer   Lyme RC
2nd Louis Preston  Lyme RC
3rd Alex Webb   Lyme RC

A Class 10 lap scratch
1st Matthew Rotherham Sportcity Velo
2nd Jess Wieckowski  Team Nemisis
3rd Ian Cooper   Planet X

B Class 8 lap scratch
1st Neil Cummins  PM
2nd Lisa Daly   Sportcity Velo
3rd Alex Taylor   Sportcity Velo

Youth 6 lap H’Cap
1st Alex Webb
2nd Joel Partington
3rd Louis Preston

Keirin League
1st Tom Powell   Newcastle RC 2001
2nd Matthew Rotherham
3rd Steve Cronshaw
4th Ian Cooper
5th Robert Lambton  Brooks Cycles
6th Sam Birchall

B Class Win and Out
1st Sam Birchall  Lyme RC
2nd Neil Cummins
3rd Joe Evans   Newcastle RC 2001

A Class Win and Out
1st Matthew Rotherham
2nd Lewis Balyckyi  Team Wallis RT
3rd Jess Wieckowski

Youth Team Sprint
1st Ashleigh Williams Lyme RC
 Aleshia Mellor
 Sallie Birchall  Lyme RC
 Sean Mayer
 Alex Braybrooke  Sportcity Velo
 Christian Braybrooke Sportcity Velo
 Joel Partington

B Class Course De Primes
1st Neil Cummins
2nd Phil Braybrooke  Sportcity Velo
3rd Les Goodall   Huddesfield Star Wheelers

10 Mile Scratch
1st Robert Lambton
2nd Lewis Balyckyi
3rd Jess Wieckowski

B Class
1st Joe Evans
2nd Neil Cummins
3rd Joel Partington