TT: Peacock takes Glasgow South win


Location: Bishopton Community Centre, Renfrewshire
Event: 21 April 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Benjamin Peacock set the quickest time in the VC Glasgow South 10 mile time trial in Bishopton on Sunday.

The 31-year-old Paisley Velo Race Team stopped the clock at 20:44, knocking five seconds off Iain Grant’s time of 20:49.

Peacock and Grant were around a minute faster than anyone else on the day with Thomas Gordon of Dooleys Cycles set the third quickest time of 21:50.

After the race Benjamin said: “I had a win in the Icebreaker 2-up back in February and prior to today I had third in Drumclog, but I’ve spent most of March on the sidelines after velodrome accident put me out for four weeks.

“But I’m feeling good now and I was very happy with ride before I even knew the time because I had no trouble from my hip.

“Conditions weren’t the best today, very cold and wet but I was one of the last off and the wind started to ease. I’m building my fitness back up, getting my form back. I feel fresh but I’m not in the best condition after the injury.

“My goal is to get the qualifying time to compete in the Glasgow Commonwealth Games, any TTs are second to that at the moment. Track is relatively new to me. I’ve a long way to go but I’ll try.”  



1 Benjamin Peacock Paisley Velo Race Team 20.44

2 Iain Grant 20.49

3 Thomas Gordon 21.50

4 Gerry McGarrity Inverclyde Velo 22.24

5 Andrew Underwood Glasgow Whls 22.27

6 Jason Barnes Glasgow Nightingale CC 22.32

7 Christopher Staples Fullarton Wheelers 22.48

8 Ian Sim Paisley Velo Race Team 22.50

9 Steve Macluskie VC Glasgow South 22.58

10 Paul McLafferty Glasgow Ivy CC 23.00

11 Paul Friel Glasgow Road Club 23.12

12 Sadiq Mir West Lothian Clarion CC 23.22

13 Robert Kelly Ayr Roads Cycling Club 23.28

14 Neil Campbell Ayr Roads Cycling Club 23.48

15 Iain Taylor Dunfermline CC 23.51

16 Andy Brown Stirling Bike Club 23.54

17 Duncan Warwick Deeside Thistle CC 23.57

18 Charlie Adams VC Glasgow South 24.02

19 Frank Anderson West Lothian Clarion CC 24.05

20 David McCormack Paisley Velo Race Team 24.13

21 Douglas Brooke Glasgow Road Club 24.24

22 Brian Nicol Ayr Roads Cycling Club 24.25

23 Steven Smith Royal Albert CC 24.26

24 Stuart Turvey Sandy Wallace Cycles 24.44

25 James Tree Deeside Thistle CC 24.52

26 John Anderson Glasgow Road Club 24.59

27 Allan Maclean Glasgow Whls 25.02

28 John Campbell Royal Albert CC 25.06

29 Mike Ferguson Johnstone Wheelers CC 25.07

30 Toni McIntosh Ayr Roads Cycling Club 25.15

31 James Davidson Pedal Power RT 25.17

32 John Johnstone Icarus Racing 25.38

33 Lynne Wardrop Ayr Roads Cycling Club 25.46

34 David Hamill Pedal Power RT 26.02

35 Philip Wright Pedal Power RT 26.33

36 John McComisky Pedal Power RT 27.15

37 Gordon Macdougall Pedal Power RT 28.29

38 Fred Turvey Sandy Wallace Cycles 28.37

39 Jane Stevenson Edinburgh RC 28.44

40 Ken Tree Deeside Thistle CC 29.54

41 Jennifer Nicol Fullarton Wheelers 32.02

42 David Gibson DNF

43 Neil McFarlane Falkirk Bicycle Club DNF

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.