Road: Gullen swoops to victory in Jim Rogers Memorial

Road: Gullen swoops to victory in Jim Rogers Memorial


Location: Oakenclough, Lancashire
Event: 18 August 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Hope Factory Racing rider James Gullen secured a solo victory in the Jim Rogers Memorial, round 15 of the CDNW League, when he launched a late attack in the Lancashire event.

The 23-year-old, who is from Leeds but lives in Lancaster, was 1:15 ahead by the line after attacking up a climb with six miles to go, leaving his breakaway rivals to battle for the minor placings.

It was Gullen’s 16th podium so far this season, and comes after he placed third in the previous week’s CDNW League Road Race.

“I spent the whole race in different groups trying to get across to the leaders, but I was always on the wrong side of the breaks. But two of us did finally manage to get across to the leaders, and I attacked from then,” said Gullen afterwards.

“I knew the climb was the best place to attack because it’s a hard circuit and it would’ve taken a lot out of the guys who had been away for most of the race. It was breezy and there were rain showers, so at the end the other guys’ legs weren’t as strong as mine.”

Michael Ashurst (Biketreks Racing Academy) took second spot, sprinting home just a second ahead of Kit Gilham (Metaltek-Knights of Old).

And in the 55-mile 34W race, Mark Nulty took the win by 17 seconds from Brad Morgan (Bill Nickson Cycles), while Karl Owen (Manchester Wheelers) was third.



1 James Gullen Hope Factory Racing 122km in 3:16:12

2 Michael Ashurst Biketreks Racing Academy @1:15

3 Kit Gilham Metaltek - Knights of Old @1:16

4 Liam Glen Wheelbase Altura MGD st

5 Jacob Tipper Biketreks Racing Academy @2:30

6 Jonathan Cregeen Biketreks Racing Academy @6:40

7 Samuel Jackson Racing Team st

8 Leigh Cowell Kuota - Spinergy - GSG st

9 Steve Smith Champion System/Maxgear/Base @14:50

10 John Rigby Champion System/Maxgear/Base st

11 James Dunlop Biketreks Racing Academy @19:00

12 Stuart Percival GB Fire Service st

13 Alex Jones 4 Star Racing @20:15

14 John Findley Bill Nickson Cycles RT @22:15

15 Luke Beswick Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles @24:15

16 Aaron Handley Bikebox - Alan st

17 Martin Woffindin Cycle Sport Pendle st

18 Julian Pearson Teamwallis CHH Racing Team @ 1 lap


1 Mark Nulty (unattached) 55 miles in 2:32:30

2 Brad Morgan Bill Nickson Cycles @17secs

3 Karl Owen Man Whs @20secs

4 David Kinloch Ilkley C.C. @1:15

5 Sean Noon ASL 360 st

6 Thomas Gibson Kent Valley RC st

7 Matthew Wiliams-Jones Sheffield Uni st

8 Martyn Gordon Champion System/Maxgear/Base st

9 John Bamford Team Leapfrog st

10 Ian Roberts unattached st

11 Thomas Brazier Chester RC st

12 Paul Rowley Manchester Whlrs Club st

13 Joseph Robinson Wills Wheels Cycling Club st

14 Christopher Taylor Border City Wheelers CC st

15 Jonathan Rooke Wills Wheels Cycling Club @2:52

16 Adam Blakeley Team Leapfrog @3:00

17 Fred Bamforth Stretford Whls CC st

18 Christian Smith Manchester Whlrs Club st

19 Christopher Anderson Biketreks Racing Academy @8:26

20 Kristian Spreckley Withington Whs st

21 Robert Shirley unattached @8:36

22 Joe Bennett Warrington RC @11:00

23 Geoff Mates @20:00

24 Mathew Lythgoe Ribble Valley CRC st

25 Nick Taylor P.M. @25:00

26 Sammy K Y Cheung unattached st

27 Wayne Greenhalgh Champion System/Maxgear/Base st

28 Darran Acton Team Leapfrog st

29 Graham Atkinson Lancaster st

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.