Road: Trott and Scully win London Nocturne

Road: Trott and Scully win London Nocturne


Location: Smithfield Market, London
Event: 8 June 2013

Laura Trott triumphed for Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling at the IG London Nocturne as a packed Smithfield Market was treated to world-class elite bike racing on Saturday night.

Trott took a photo-finish victory from Hannah Barnes (MG - MaxiFuel Pro Cycling) in the Rapha Elite Women's Criterium before Tom Scully (Team Raleigh) pipped Alex Dowsett on the line in the final race of the night, the NORGLIDE® Elite Criterium.

Dani King finished third in the women's elite race, giving Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling two riders (both of whom won gold medals at last year's London 2012 Olympics) on the podium as their string of impressive results continued.

Smithfield Market in the heart of London was buzzing with cycling fans all day after the racing began at 4pm.

There was a London Cycling Campaign Urban Cycle Cross, the Time Out London Folding Bike Race, the Leigh Day Kermesse and the Wiggle Team Challenge. Not to mention the IG City Criterium, the Brooks Penny Farthing Race and the Schwalbe Track Criterium.

Trott took a stunning victory in the Rapha Elite Women's Crit before Scully put in a superb ride in an intensely competitive men's race.

Dowsett (Movistar Team) followed up his time trial victory at last month's Giro with an incredibly strong ride here but came up a couple of inches short in a thrilling final sprint.

Dean Downing (Madison Genesis) was third, with four riders almost level on the line in an incredible finish.


Elite Women:
1 Laura Trott Wiggle - Honda 00:34:51
2 Hannah Barnes MG - MaxiFuel Pro Cycling 00:34:51
3 Dani King Wiggle - Honda 00:34:52
4 Coryn Rivera Breast Cancer Care 00:34:53
5 Corrine Hall Matrix Fitness Racing Team 00:34:53
6 Lauren Kitchen Wiggle - Honda 00:34:53
7 Jo Rowsell Wiggle - Honda 00:34:53
8 Louise Mahe MuleBar Girl - Sigma Sport 00:34:55
9 Charlotte Becker Wiggle - Honda 00:34:56
10 Natalie Creswick MuleBar Girl - Sigma Sport 00:35:32

Elite Men:
1 Thomas Scully Team Raleigh 00:54:18
2 Alex Dowsett Movistar 00:54:18
3 Dean Downing Madison Genesis 00:54:18
4 Roman Van Uden NODE4 Giordana Racing 00:54:18
5 Graham Briggs Team Raleigh 00:54:19
6 Niklas Gustavsson Team UK Youth 00:54:19
7 Kristian House Rapha Condor JLT 00:54:20
8 Hannes Baumgarten Rudy Project RT 00:54:20
9 Liam Stones MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling 00:54:21
10 Samuel Witmitz Team Raleigh 00:54:21