Road: Smith leads Cornish one-two for Spin-Rotor-Primal

Road: Smith leads Cornish one-two for Spin-Rotor-Primal


Location: RAF Portreath, Redruth, Cornwall
Event: 25 May 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Warm sunshine marked the final event to be held at RAF Portreath which saw James Smith lead a one-two for Spin Rotor Primal C in the feature elite race in the third round of the Cornish Series.

The 40-year-old Plympton veteran outsprinted team-mate Nick Pilborough for his first win of the season.

Sol Warwick (Penzance Wheelers) scored a maiden road win in a blistering sprint finish to the race for third and fourth categories, and the fourth categories stayed together in a tight bunch throughout a controlled and disciplined race before whittling down to nine leaders who were led over the line by Mark Wiffen (Tavistock Wheelers).

Mathilde Pauls (Exeter Wheelers) won the women’s race, and the honours in the youth categories went to Jack Matlock (One And All Cycling), Joe Saunders (Mid Devon CC), Toby Peters (One and All), Sam Medley (One And All), Henry Howells (CS South Hams), Alanah Wickett (One And All), Jamelia Powell (One And All), Abby Old (Hillingdon Slpistreamers) and Abby Martyn (One And All).

The promoting clubs for the series - One And All Cycling, Penzance Wheelers and Newquay Velo - were, fittingly, well represented, and so good were the conditions that even Matt Southam, the organiser for many years, was seen in shorts and t-shirt for the first time.


1 James Smith (Spin Rotor Primal C-Originals RT)
2 Nick Pilborough (Spin Rotor Primal C-Originals RT)
3 Daniel Watts (RAF CC)
4 Tim McEvoy (Newquay Velo)
5 Harry Snow (North Devon Wheelers)
6 Tom Moran (Rutrainingtoday CC)
7 Duncan Heywood (One And All Cycling)
8 Owen Owen (Rutraining today CC)
9 Sebastian Finch (VO2 Development Team)

3/4 Cat:
1 Sol Warwick (Penzance Wheelers)
2 Jack Mattock (One And All Cycling)
3 Phil Coad (BC Private Member)
4 Chris Mattocks (Army CU)
5 Tim Mitchell (Tavistock Wheelers)
6 Huw Richards (Rutrainingtoday CC)
7 Luc Hesdon (One And All Cycling)
8 Stacey Bray (Newquay Velo)
9 Neal Preston (Team V-Sprint Racing)
10 Craig Lawson (Exeter Wheelers)

4 Cat:
1 Mark Wiffen (Tavistock Wheelers)
2 Russell Parkin (BC Private Member)
3 Ross Wildman (Plymouth Corinthian CC)
4 Alan Sanders (CS South Hams)
5 Gavin MacDougall (Tavistock Wheelers)
6 Joel Hewitt (One And All Cycling)
7 Rob Common (Newquay Velo)
8 Mark Schofield (Newquay Velo)
9 Sam Doberley (CS South Hams)
10 Gareth Thyer (Newquay Velo)

1 Mathilde Pauls (Exeter Wheelers)
2 Lyndsey Glazier (Team Hope Factory Racing)
3 Sienna Chapman (One And All Cycling)
4 Cath Newton (Newquay Velo)
5 Wiebke Rietz (1st Chard Wheelers)

1 Jack Matlock (One And All Cycling)
2 Charlie Meredith (Mid Devon CC)
3 Elliot Redfern (Bristol Cycling Development Squad)

1 Joe Saunders (Mid Devon CC)
2 Jacob Vaughan (Herne Hill Youth CC)
3 Alfie Peters (One And All Cycling)

Girls: Alanah Wickett (One And All Cycling)

1 Toby Peters (One And All Cycling)

1 Jamelia Powell (One And All Cycling)
2 Millie Revell (One And All Cycling)
3 Chelsea Stimpson-Thurlby (One And All Cycling)

1 Sam Medlyn (One And All Cycling)
2 Arron Martyn (One And All Cycling)
3 Ruben Ward (One And All Cycling)

Girls: Abby Old (Hillingdon Slipstreamers)

1 Henry Howells (CS South Hams)
2 Carne Edwards (One And All Cycling)
3 Ed Selwood (Mid Devon CC)

Girls: Abby Martyn (One And All Cycling)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.