Road: Latest results from the Dolan Schools Circuit Races

Road: Latest results from the Dolan Schools Circuit Races


Location: Victoria Park, Southport
Event: 11 May 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

There was some great racing on show at the third round of the Dolan Schools Circuit Races, staged at Victoria Park in Southport on Saturday afternoon.

As the series progresses there is clearly some great battles being fought out among the riders across the categories, and some strong riders looks set to progress to become great junior riders in due course.

In the Youth A (under-16) boys super group, Max Spedding (Birkenhead North End CC) took the win convincingly, almost a minute ahead of team-mate Jack Hulme who just beat third-placed Harris Redgrove (SportCity Velo).

It was a major improvement for Spedding, whose previous best finish was tenth in the last round.

East Bradford CC’s Robert Scott won the regular Youth A category by less than a second in a sprint finish. He held off Chris Fallon (Liverpool Mercury) to land his first win in the series, following a third place in round two. Monica Dew (SportCity Velo) was the best girl in the race.

In the Under-14 Super Group, Simon Howlett (Border City Wheelers) won by 20 seconds, again notching up his first win of the series.

And in the regular Youth B (under-14) races, Alistair Leivers (Blackpool YCA) won by a second and a half – his third win of the series following wins in the opening race of both the previous two rounds.

After finishing second three times over the last two rounds, Katie Helsby (Eastlands Velo) was best girl in the Under-14s category.

Robert Donaldson (Mossley CRT) outsprinted Isaac Peatfield (Bolton Hot Wheels) at the end of the Under-12 (Youth C) race. It was Donaldson’s third race win in the series, and means he hasn’t finished outside the top two in any of the five races. In the Girls race, Betty Henderson (Southport CC) took the win.

Ben Peatfield (Bolton Hot Wheels) scored a convincing victory in the youth D (under-10s) category by around 20 seconds from rival James Higham (Eastlands Velo). The pair have tussled throughout the series, and the win in round three was Peatfield’s third.

Niamha Albones (Century RC) proved victorious in the youth D girls race.

Euan Hacker (North Cheshire Clarion) has battled throughout the series with under-8 rival James Donaldson (Mossley CRT), but this time he took a clear win from Mike Henderson (Southport CC) while Donaldson had to settle for third, a lap down.

And Isabel Koch (Bolton Hot Wheels CC) was top girl in the youth E (under-8) category.



Youth A Boys (Super):

1 Max Spedding BNECC A SUPER 25:07.3

2 Jack Hulme Birkenhead North End A SUPER 57.321

3 Harris Redgrove Sport City Velo A SUPER 57.392

4 Joshua Loughrie Sportcity Velo A SUPER 57.637

5 Ryan Ashcroft St Helens CRC/D.Sparrow Plumbing & Heating Services A SUPER 01:01.1

6 Jacob Booth Eastlands Velo A SUPER 01:27.6

7 Joel Partington Sportcity Velo A SUPER 1 Lap

8 Daniel Hulmes Bolton Hot Wheels CC A SUPER 1 Lap

9 Thomas McCann Sportcity Velo A SUPER 2 Laps

DNF Matthew Cosgrove Sportcity Velo A SUPER DNF

Youth A Boys:

1 Robert Scott East Bradford CC A

2 Chris Fallon Liverpool Mercury (Dolan) CC A 0.238

3 Timothy Jones Cycle Sport Pendle A 0.5

4 Joseph Peatfield Bolton Hot Wheels CC A 0.759

5 Reece Player Mossley CRT A 0.999

6 Joseph Baldwin Salt Ayre Cog Set A 1.915

7 Charlie Critchley Southport CC A 2.065

8 Bailey Payne Cycle Sport Pendle A 2.111

9 Sam Tomlins Bolton Hot Wheels CC A 47.82

10 Harry Pate North Lancashire RC A 0.000787662

11 Harry French Cycle Sport Pendle A 0.000844271

12 Patrick Merriman Liverpool Mercury A 1 Lap

13 Archie Stewart Mossley CRT A 1 Lap

14 Ben Gleeson Eastlands Velo A 2 Laps

15 Ellis Anderson Sportcity Velo A 2 Laps

16 Kyle Jameson Southport CC A 3 Laps

17 Oliver Smith Southport CC A 4 Laps

DNF Andrew Hammonds North Cheshire Clarion A DNF

Youth A girls:

1 Monica Dew Sportcity Velo A Girl 25:04.7

Youth B Boys (Super):

1 Simon Howlett Border City Wheelers CC B SUPER 26:10.2

2 Dan Salcedo Southport CC B SUPER 19.199

3 Andrew Hathaway Bolton Hot Wheels CC B SUPER 1 Lap

4 Tom Byers Eastlands Velo B SUPER 1 Lap

5 Chris Heaton Sport City Velo B SUPER 1 Lap

6 Elliot Reed Salt Ayre Cog Set B SUPER 1 Lap

7 Jordan Stanworth Bolton Hot Wheels CC B SUPER 2 Laps

Youth B Boys:

1 Alistair Leivers Blackpool Youth Cycle Association B 20:37.8

2 Nathan Hawthorn Eastlands Velo B 1.553

3 Luke Cheetham Eastlands Velo B 2.378

4 Daniel Gibson Liverpool Century RC B 35.949

5 Samuel Rathbone Eastlands Velo B 01:46.1

6 Jack Barton Furness Future Flyers B 1 Lap

7 Brendan Thompson Liverpool Century RC B 1 Lap

8 Scott Slack Eastlands B 1 Lap

9 Karl Richter Mossley CRT B 1 Lap

10 James Cardwell Eastlands Velo B 2 Laps

11 Nathan Gill Bolton Hot Wheels CC B 2 Laps

Youth B Girls:

1 Katie Helsby Eastlands Velo B Girl 20:45.3

2 Helen Osguthorpe North Cheshire Clarion B Girl 01:04.8

Youth C Boys:

1 Robert Donaldson Mossley CRT C 18:37.3

2 Isaac Peatfield Bolton Hot Wheels CC C 0.401

3 George Elliott Liverpool Century RC C 48.831

4 Adam Hathaway Bolton Hot Wheels CC C 49

5 Thomas Bates Mossley CRT C 50.512

6 Nathan Rowbotham Eastlands Club Member C 01:22.7

7 Ben Ryder Eastlands Velo C 01:26.7

8 George Ball Furness Future Flyers C 02:02.6

9 Junior Jackson Mossley CRT C 1 Lap

10 Adam Lyons Liverpool Mercury C 1 Lap

11 Ben Wells Liverpool Century RC C 1 Lap

12 Conor McKinnon Southport CC C 1 Lap

13 Cameron Bates Mossley CRT C 1 Lap

14 Jacob Wolstencroft Bolton Hot Wheels CC C 2 Laps

15 Andrew Osguthorpe North Cheshire Clarion C 2 Laps

Youth C Girls:

1 Betty Henderson Southport CC C Girl 19:37.0

2 Eve Barrow Salt Ayre Cog Set C Girl 2.549

3 Megan Harrop Mossley Crt C Girl 1 Lap

Youth D Boys:

1 Benjamin Peatfield Bolton Hot Wheels CC D 07:07.4

2 James Higham Eastlands Velo D 18.065

3 Kyle Braun Mossley CRT D 33.328

4 Lachlan Hacker North Cheshire Clarion D 34.991

5 Tyler Lloyd H.Middleton CC D 01:00.2

6 Connor Clarkson CSP D 1 Lap

7 Samuel Kendall Liverpool Century RC D 1 Lap

8 Spencer Unsworth Blackpool Youth Cycle Association D 1 Lap

Youth D Girls:

1 Niamha Albones Century RC D Girl 07:43.1

2 Evelina Black Chester Go-Ride Cycling Club D Girl 5.824

3 Fran Henderson Southport CC D Girl 5.88

Youth E Boys:

1 Euan Hacker North Cheshire Clarion E 08:37.2

2 Mike Henderson Southport CC E 1.972

3 James Donaldson Mossley CRT E 1 Lap

4 Deetry Jarrett Preston Pirates BMX Club E 1 Lap

5 Andrew ClarkeE 1 Lap

6 Tom Elliot Liverpool Century RC E 1 Lap

7 Saul Ashton Blackpool E 1 Lap

8 Ethan Grimshaw Bolton Hot Wheels CC E 1 Lap

9 Trayden Jarrett Preston Pirates BMX E 1 Lap

Youth E Girls:

1 Isabel Koch Bolton Hot Wheels CC E Girl 08:57.0

2 Imogen Peatfield Bolton Hot Wheels CC E Girl 1 Lap

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.