Road: Jones makes it three in Halesowen Road Race

Road: Jones makes it three in Halesowen Road Race


Location: Astley, Stourport-on-Severn, Worcestershire
Event: 12 May 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Mike Jones (Paramount CRT) completed a hat-trick of wins in Halesowen A&CC’s 70-mile May road race when he outsprinted fellow veteran Phil Mason (Climb On Bikes CC) after five laps of the Astley circuit in Worcestershire.

Winner in 2010 and again in 2011, 46-year-old Jones and Mason, 48, broke away from an eight-strong leading group on the final climb to fight out the finish with William Goulbourne (Team V-Sprint Racing), winner of the Andy Morrison Memorial road race a week earlier, underlining his good form in third place from an initially 66-strong field.

First to show were Matt Clinton (Mike Vaughan Cycles) and Sean Mungovan (Beacon Roads CC), who went clear in the early stages and opened up a gap which hovered at around a minute for most of the race.

Behind them, the bunch was split by a crash on a fast descent which saw Richard Watson (Paramount CRT) and Tony Kiss (BC Private Member) taken to hospital, and eventually a six-man chasing group formed and steadily reeled in the two leaders.

“I’ve won on the circuit a few times, it suits my type of riding,” said Jones, from Shrewsbury, who went into the race in good form after finishing third overall in the Nigel Measom two-day the previous weekend.

“It’s quite lumpy and hard work, and you’ve got be quite strong to get in the breaks. It was a very good race today and well organised.”


1 Mike Jones (Paramount CRT)
2 Philip Mason (Climb On Bikes CC)
3 William Goulbourne (Team V-Sprint Racing)
4 Simon Alexander (Bush Healthcare CRT)
5 Sean Mungovan (Beacon Roads CC)
6 James Jenkins (Wyre Forest CRC)
7 Matt Clinton (Mike Vaughan Cycles)
8 Matthew Bonehill (Stafford RC)
9 Dion Black (Kenilworth Wheelers)
10 Ben Mountford (BC Private Member)
11 Chris Bates (Loughborough Students CC)
12 Nicholas Jepson (Beeston RC)
13 Adam Lewis (Wolverhampton Wheelers)
14 Callum Bramley (Langdale Lightweights RT)
15 James Locker (Team V-Sprint Racing)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.