Road: Debney wins Surrey League Road Race

Road: Debney wins Surrey League Road Race


Location: Newick Scout Hut, Newick, Sussex
Event: 11 May 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

In form rider Mike Debney notched up another victory when he was first over the line at the end of the latest Surrey League Road Race, staged by Bayeux Cycling Team near Newick in Sussex on Saturday.

The 30-year-old from London, wearing the colours of London Dynamo, took victory ahead of veteran Mike Coyle (Brighton Mitre CC), while RAF CC’s Robert Willcocks took third.

It was Debney’s fourth win of the season, and seventh time in eight races he has fought his way onto the podium. Two weeks ago he won the Reading CC Spring Road Race, while earlier in April he was victorious in the Surrey League race promoted by Addiscombe CC at Bletchingley.


1 Mike Debney London Dynamo 2

2 Michael Coyle Brighton Mitre 2V

3 Robert Willcocks Royal Air Force CC 2

4 Dan Gardner ASL360 3J

5 Harry Littlechild London Dynamo 2

6 Adam Capes London Dynamo 2

7 Ed Ashby Private Member 2

8 Mark McCullagh Dulwich Paragon CC 2V

9 Darren Peachey Norwood Paragon CC 2

10 Maurice Brennan Redhill Cycling Club 2

11 Rhys Clegg PMR@Toachim House 2

12 Austyn Tusler Norwood Paragon CC 2V

13 Joe James Velosport 2

14 Jez McCann PMR@Team Toachim 2J

15 Paul Flynn Brighton Mitre 2

16 Michael Williams Dulwich Paragon CC 3V

17 Jules Birks VC de Londres 2

18 Matthew Miles InGear Quickvit Trainsharp 2V

19 Dan Mitchell Redhill Cycling Club 2

20 Craig Joy PMR@Team Toachim 3

21 Richard Prebble Node4-Giordana Racing 2V

22 Patrick Hawkins Dulwich Paragon CC 2V

23 Andy Lack Kingston Wheelers 2V

24 Andy Edwards Kingston Wheelers 2V

25 Gavin Starling Brighton Mitre 2V

26 Stuart Bettis Southdowns Bikes 2

27 Cliff Steele Brixton Cycles CC 3V

28 David Arthur Private Member 2

29 Keith Lea Addiscombe CC 2V

29 Paul Helyer Blazing Saddles 3

29 Nigel Langridge Crawley Wheelers 3V

29 Damien Breen Kingston Wheelers 2

29 Alexander Donaldson London Dynamo 3

dnf George Moore ASL360 3

dnf Peter Morris ASL360 3

dnf Luke Farren Brighton Mitre 2V

dnf Matthew Farren Brighton Mitre 3V

dnf Adam Platts Dulwich Paragon CC 3V

dnf Barny Willard InGear Quickvit Trainsharp 2V

dnf Ian Leeding Norwood Paragon CC 2V

dnf Mike Hawkins Norwood Paragon CC 3V

dnf Chris Rees Pearson Cycles 2

dnf David Clinton Pearson Cycles 3V

dnf Oliver Moors Prestige Velo Club 3J

dnf Andrew Stronge Private Member 3V

dnf Peter Allan Private Member 2

dnf Wilf Sinclair Pearson Cycles 3

dnf Paul Barnard Southdowns Bikes 3

dnf Colin Tamon Southdowns Bikes 3V

dnf Matt Townsend ASL360 3V

dnf Iain Cook VC de Londres 2

dnf John Hyde VC St Raphael 2V

dnf Matt Hill VO2 Development Team 3J

dnf Mike Lancaster VC Meudon 2

dnf Drew Holmes Southdowns Bikes 3

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.