Road: Clavell goes one better for Handicap win

Road: Clavell goes one better for Handicap win


Location: Chertsey, Surrey
Event: 25 April 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Second in last year’s corresponding event, Andrew Clavell stepped up a place to win the opening round of the Surrey League Handicap Series on the Kitsmead Lane course.

Veterans filled the top six positions in the Charlotteville CC promotion with 45-year-old Clavell (Kingston Wheelers) securing his maiden road race victory at the main expense of Ray Healey (RT 316), back competing after a year’s break, and Graham Berridge (Pearson CC).


1 Andrew Clavell Kingston Wheelers 3V

2 Ray Healey RT316 3V

3 Graham Berridge Pearson Cycles 3V

4 Adam Platts Dulwich Paragon CC 3V

5 John McVey Chapeau 3V

6 Brian Hennessey Redhill Cycling Club 3V

7 Greg Strange Private Member 4

8 John Wutton Glendene CC 4

9 Darren Millington Charlotteville CC 4

10 Ryan Smith Private Member 4

11 David Seymour Twickenham CC 4

12 Adam Hansen Pearson Cycling Club 4

13 Paul Buckley Thames Velo 4V

14 Declan Egan Kingston Wheelers 4

15 Jon Shillingford Private Member 4

16 Mark Bashford East Grinstead CC 4

17 Nick Silka Thames Velo 4

18 Mark Fitzgerald VC Venta 4

19 Feargal Coffey Charlotteville CC 4V

20 Richard Collins Imperial Racing Team 3V

21 James Mickelburgh London Dynamo 3

22 Andrew Middleton Pearson Cycles 3V

23 Tony Gordon Pearson Cycles 3V

24 Steve Smith VC Meudon 3V

25 Damien Lodge Vedett RT 3V

26 Richard Read Kingston Wheelers 3V

27 Nigel Macaodha Private Member 3

28 Mike Smith 3

29 Chris Wright Team Velo Sportif 3V

30 George Kirkin Twickenham CC 3

31 David Morgan Charlotteville CC 4V

32 Gareth Thomas Kingston Wheelers 3

33 Leszek Wuziak Twickenham CC 3

34 Harry Ribbons Norwood Paragon CC 3

35 Shane Pope Bayeux Cycling Team 3

36 Steve Wood Pearson Cycles 4V

37 Tom Hughes 3

38 Albert Ellison VC Meudon 2

39 Gianluca Cappello VC Meudon 2V

40 Stephen Broomfield Addiscombe CC 2V

41 Paul Drake 3

42 Alex Tinsley Twickenham CC 3

43 Andy Edwards Kingston Wheelers 2V

44 Austyn Tusler Norwood Paragon CC 2V

45 Colin Gunn Kingston Wheelers 3

46 Dave Larkin Charlotteville CC 2V

47 Mark Poland InGear Quickvit Trainsharp 2V

48 Chris Wood VC Meudon 1

49 Nick Kirke 3

50 Wilf Sinclair Pearson Cycles 3

51 James Graham VC Meudon 3

52 Damien Breen Kingston Wheelers 2

53 Chris Fletcher Team Axiom 2

54 Mike Cownley Norwood Paragon CC 2

55 Ben Macland VC Meudon 2V

56 Darrell Pembroke VC Meudon 2

57 Mike Lancaster VC Meudon 2

58 Mark Workman Festival RC 3

59 Matthew Wakeford Wyndymilla 3

60 Timothy Watling Kingston Wheelers 3

61 Gavin Morton VC Meudon 2

62 Chris Day VC Meudon 3V

63 Maryka Sennema Kingston Wheelers 2W

64 Rob Teasolier Sydenham Wheelers 3

65 Lloyd Chapman Glendene CC 2

66 Russell Childs Racing Team 316 3V

67 Gary Sheffield Team Velo Sportif 3V

68 Jasmijn Muller Kingston Wheelers 2W

69 Steve Wood Pearson Cycles 4V

70 Natalie Creswick Team Mulebar 2W

71 Rachel Przybyski Wyndymilla 2W

72 Lisa Gunn Wyndymilla 3WV

73 James Wright Charlotteville CC 3V

74 Nicholas Griffiths Kingston Wheelers 3

75 Tony Vickers Pearson Cycling Club 3

76 Michael Oates Kingston Wheelers 3

dnf Nick Thompson Zappis CC 4

dnf Darren Hague Kingston Wheelers 3V

dnf Paul Butler InGear Quickvit Trainsharp 2V

dnf Matt Walters La Fuga-Sigma Sport 3V

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.