Road: Gullen takes CDNW victory

Road: Gullen takes CDNW victory


Location: Endmoor, Kendal, Cumbria
Event: 14 April 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Hope Factory’s James Gullen fought his way to the front to take victory in event six of the CDNW Road Race League.

The high wind and heavy rain made for extremely difficult conditions but the riders that took part made it a success as they made their way round the windswept Cumbria roads.

But the conditions didn’t seem to affect Gullen and with nobody working together three laps in, the 23-year-old took off on his own and stayed away.

Although Michael Ashurst (Biketreks Racing Academy) bridged across to Gullen, he couldn’t keep pace and soon dropped off leaving the leader to storm away and record his first victory of the season.

Matthew Cronshaw (IG Sigma Sport) raced to second place, 1:34 behind Gullen. Cronshaw was also on his own with Andy Tennant (Madison Genesis) ten seconds behind in third.

James said after the race: “It was really bad weather, very windy. A small group got away early on, with two Madison Genesis guys. I rode across with someone else but nobody worked well so I went off in front.

“I felt good, not everyone was up for it and when that happens it can give you an advantage and I think that’s what happened.

“I’ve entered quite a few of the CDNW races, I came second to Rob Partridge in event five and I’ve had podiums but this was my first win. I’ve got Rutland next weekend and then a tour series which I’ve  never done before so it’s  learning curve.”

In the support race, it was Ilkley CC’s Robert Ormrod who led the way with Team Leapfrog’s Mark Dziobon second across the line. Oliver Payton (Cycle Sport Pendle) rounded off the podium.


1 James Gullen Hope Factory Racing

2 Matthew Cronshaw IG Sigma Sport

3 Andy Tennant Madison Genesis

4 Ian Bibby Madison Genesis

5 Michael Ashurst Biketreks Racing Academy

6 Gary Hand Herbalife-Leisure Lakes

7 Stuart Reid Wheelbase Altura MGD

8 Josh Hunt Team UK Youth

9 Andrew Coupe Wheelbase Altura MGD

10 Giles Drake Herbalife-Leisure Lakes

11 Kit Gilham Metaltek - Knights of Old Racing Team

12 Matthew Pilkington Metaltek - Knights of Old Racing Team

13 James Dunlop Biketreks Racing Academy

14 Felix Barker St Ives CC

15 Kevin Barclay Bicycle Works

16 Steven Clarke Wheelbase Altura MGD

17 Henry Hunter Teamwallis CHH Racing Team

18 Alastair Kay Herbalife-Leisure Lakes

19 Shaun Nicholson Blackhawk Bikes

20 Jake Cowen Biketreks Racing Academy

1 Robert Ormrod Ilkley Cycling Club

2 Mark Dziobon Team Leapfrog

3 Oliver Payton Cycle Sport Pendle

4 Darran Acton Team Leapfrog

5 Robert Shields Gosforth RC

6 Alastair Young Chester RC

7 James Chamberlain Cyclesport International RT

8 Adam Pratt Rock to Roll Cycles Ltd

9 John Cann

10 Mark Tickle Leigh Premier RC

11 Philip Knupfer Manchester Whlrs Club

12 Alexander O'Gorman Manchester Whlrs Club

13 Christian Smith Manchester Whlrs Club

14 Alex Jones 4 Star Racing

15 Peter Harrison Manx R.C.

16 Carl Potter Lancashire RC

17 John Agnew PM

18 Darius Satongar Manchester Whlrs Club

19 Keith Laird Team Thomsons Cycles

20 Nick Jones Honister 92

21 David Allonby Racing Team

22 Luke Douglas Chorlton Velo

23 Michael Lund Lancs Fire Racing

24 Joshua Vincent (unattached)

25 Peter Ware St Helens CRC/D.Sparrow Plumbing & Heating Services

26 Martyn Gordon Champion System/Maxgear/Base

27 Stewart Melling (unattached)

28 Ashley Ryan Honister 92

29 Campbell West (unattached)

30 Geoff Mates (unattached)

31 Paul Rowley Manchester Whlrs Club

32 Ben Staley Team Wheelguru

33 Fred Bamforth Private member

34 Robert Smith Honister 92

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.