Champion System announce new title sponsor and rider line up for 2013

Champion System announce new title sponsor and rider line up for 2013


After a great 2012 which saw the team take many wins including overall and KOM at the Junior Tour of Wales the team looks to build for 2013.

With Champion System and maxgear continuing as title sponsor new UK bike brand Base Bicycles joins them in supplying team bikes.

“The primary team focus is still junior development,” commented team owner Wayne Greenhalgh. “We had such a great 2012 and our commitment to the junior squad paid off taking wins at the Tour of Ireland and overall at the Tour of Wales and Tour of Green Mountain (USA).

“With Hugh Carthy moving on to Rapha and Chris Latham to the British Cycling Academy it’s great to see we helped these riders move onto the next level of their cycling career.”

Jake Ragan will be the only junior rider remaining on the squad from 2013 with new riders James Knox, Josh Knights and Adam Britton joining to make a junior team of four. The team has also employed Peter Kay as team manager for the junior squad.

The team will again focus on the junior national series and tours but will also target key European races and tours to help further develop the riders.

In the seniors new riders Steve Smith and Dillon Byrne will help the team develop to a higher level in the Premier Calendar and Tour Series and Ian Roberts (triathlete) will develop his cycling skills and hopefully benefit at the European and world Triathlon Championships.

The women’s team has seen the addition of a national champion in the form of talented veteran rider Janet Birkmyre and riders Lauryn Theryn and Joanne Blakeley.

The team will have its official team launch at Buyabike, Chorley on 9 March.

Full team roster 2013


Adam Britton

Jake Ragan

James Knox

Josh Knights

Team Manager Peter Kay


Dillon Byrne

Ian Roberts

John Rigby

Matt Limacher

Steve Smith

Wayne Greenhalgh


Eve Dixon

Frankie White

Joanne Blakeley

Melissa Bury

Nicola Soden

Lauryn Theryn

Janet Birkmyre