Road: Rogers takes overall Blyton Series title


Location: Blyton, Gainsborough, Lincolnshire
Event: 11 August 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Tenth place in the final round was just enough to give Callum Rogers (Scunthorpe Poly CC) overall victory in a dramatic finish to his own club’s circuit race series at Blyton Park Driving Centre on Saturday evening.

Rogers and Mark Cotton (BC Private Member) went into the race on level terms and when a break of nine riders went off the front and stayed away, it came down to a straight battle between the two for the final point on offer for tenth place.

Rogers led out the sprint as the pair hit the finishing straight clear of the other chasers, and he was left to coast in to take the title when Cotton attempted to go past with 150 metres to go but pulled his out with the effort and unluckily lost his chance.

Lee Allen (RVO Racing) forced the early pace, leading to the formation of the winning break which stayed together until the last lap when Peter Cocker (Witham Wheelers) took his chance to escape and secure a five-second victory over chaser Steve Coates (We Love Mountains) with Allen taking third place the same distance further back.

Max Poole (Lincsquad) finished second in the Youth C/D race to confirm his position as overall Youth League winner.


1 Peter Cocker (Witham Wheelers) 1-06-28
2 Steve Coates (We Love Mountains) at 5 sec
3 Lee Allen (RVO Racing) at 10 sec
4 Danny Lowthorpe (Langsett Cycles RT)
5 Daniel Keena (Squadra RT)
6 Rick Lister (RWD Factory Racing)
7 Steve Thompson (Clay Cross RT)
8 David Brearley (Cottingham Coureurs)
9 Jacob Trotter (Squadra RT) all same time
10 Callum Rogers (Scunthorpe Poly CC) at 1-13
Series overall:
1 Callum Rogers 113 points
2 Mark Cotton (BC Private Member) 112
3 Andrew Marsh (Dinnington RC) 106
4 Richard Baldwin (Dinnington RC) 86
Eq 5 Richard Moore & Chris Daddy (Squadra RT) 72
Youth A/B/C:
1 Oliver Lowthoroe (JCAYA) 19-29
2 Alex Dalton (Hull Thursday RC)
3 Osco Williamson (Mossley CRT)
4 Max Williamson (Lincsquad) all same time
5 Charlie Renshaw (Dinnington RC) at 23 sec
Youth C/D:
1 Lewis Nutt (Dinnington RC) 15-27
2 Max Poole (Lincsquad)
3 Euan Crehan (Dinnington RC) both same time
Youth League overall:
1 Max Poole 215 points
2 Max Williamson 157
3 Jack King (Langdale Lightweights) 100
4 Alex Dalton 99
5 Euan Crehan 68

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.