Road: Atkins on top in Cronin Memorial Crit


Location: Hillingdon Cycle Circuit, Hayes, London
Event: 7 July 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Claiming his second circuit race win of the year, Lewis Atkins (Twenty3c Orbea) led the elite field over the line for victory in Kenton RC’s Terry Cronin Memorial Criterium at Hillingdon.

The West Drayton 25-year-old outwitted Jacob Tipper (BC Private Member) and Jake Martin (CyclePremier-Kovert) in windy conditions, with Jack Gregorie (In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT) and Vince Halpern (Handsling Racing) winning the supporting races in sprint finishes.


1 Lewis Atkins (Twenty3c Orbea)
2 Jacob Tipper (unattached)
3 Jake Martin (Cycle Premier-Kovert)
4 Jack Waller (Team Wallis)
5 Joe Clarke (Fenland Clarion CC)
6 Cliff Steele (Brixton Cycles)
7 Robert Stimson (Python RC)
8 Amitra Virdi (Norwood Paragon CC)

1 Jack Gregorie (In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT)
2 Barry Willard (In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT)
3 Ralph de Canter (Norwood Paragon CC)
4 Stuart Williams (Reading CC)
5 Tristan Natali (Charlotteville CC)
6 Adam Capes (London Dynamo)
7 Richard Stanton (Arbis LLP)
8 Jack Sedgewick (Rollapaluza)
9 Ben Smith (Welwyn Wheelers)
10 James De Rico (High Wycombe CC)

1 Vince Halpern (Handsling Racing)
2 Rob Fletcher (Arbis LLP)
3 Keith Griffin (Kingston Wheelers)
4 Mark Slomond (Banjo Cycles)
5 Mark Ambury (Gregarios RT)
6 Des Gayler (Kenton RC)
7 Kevin Holloway (VC 10)
8 Peter Dixon (Willesden CC)
9 Bill Butterworth (Twickenham CC)
10 Monica da Polenza (UK Youth)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.