Road: Martin wins latest South East League event


Location: Cyclopark, Gravesend, Kent
Event: 5 May 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Talented Cycle Premier youngster Jake Martin took victory in the ninth round of the South East Road Race League staged at the Cyclopark near Gravesend in Kent on Saturday.

The 19-year-old from Mitcham outwitted Stowaway Bikes rival Harry Franklin, 16 and from East Grinstead, while third spot went to experienced PM Racing rider David Seager from Kent.

With about 20 minutes on the clock, eight of the riders pulled away from the rest of the field and Daren Barclay (Artic RT) and Jake Martin tried to get away at the front.

But none of their moves were sticking and it remained a close contest. The track was dry and a wind was blowing across the circuit, seemingly helping some of the riders.

As the finish approached, the top eight broke out into a sprint with Martin crossing the line first.

Martin said: “I thought I was going to drop off with about five laps to go. I was knackered. The conditions weren’t bad - a little bit of drizzle but dry for the race.

“I think the wind helped me, I like it when it’s windy. As we got to the end, there was a sprint and I won it by about a bike-and a-half.”


1 Jake Martin Cycle Premier-Kovert E U23
2 Harry Franklins Stowaway Bikes 2
3 David Seager PM Racing 1
4 Taylor Johnstone Team De Ver 1 u23
5 Daren Barclay Artic RT 1
6 David Murrell London Phoenix CC 2
7 Malcolm Davies Aprire Bicycles RT 2
8 Richard da Silva Stevenage CC E
9 Ben Lamb Wilier Live2Ride 2
10 Phil Dempsey Aprire Bicycles RT 2
11 Tom Gallacher Metaltele Scott 2
12 Chris Dick London Phoenix 2
13 David Webborn London Dynamo CC 2
14 Philip Murrell Finsbury Park CC 2
1 Robert Griffiths London Phoenix CC 3
2 Scott Webb PM Racing 3
3 Ivan Jordan Aprire Bicycles 3V
4 Robert Purcell Mountain Trax 3
5 Alex Ioannides Dulwich Paragon CC 3
6 Fabio Amati Aprire Bicycles 3
7 Henry Farrell Welwyn Wheelers 3
8 Emuric Hurault Unattached 3V
9 Robert Nall London Dynamo 3
10 Richard Bayfield London Phoenix CC 3
11 Andrew Wills Team Toachim 3V
12 David Bird London Phoenix CC 4
13 Alex Fairman San Fairy Ann CC Racing 4
14 Andrew O'Connor London Dynamo 3
15 Paul Sheers Vicious Velo 3
16 Ryan Visser Redhill CC 3
17 Chaz Hollosi Gemini BC 3
18 Richard Hemsley Crawley Wheelers 3
19 Mark Simmonds Kingsnorth International 3
20 Daniel Simpson Greenwich Tritons 4
21 Paul Horta-Hopkins Handsling 3
22 Tom Mann Private 4
23 Justin Costley CC Hackney 4
24 Jim Whenman PM Racing 4

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.