Newbold scores maiden win at Royal London 360 Youth League


Location: National Sports Centre, Isle of Man
Event: 1 May 2012


Considering the far from ideal weather conditions, there was a good turnout of 307 competitors at the National Sports Centre for round four of Team Royal London 360 Isle of Man's Youth League.

Royal London 360 Youth League

Colby Newbold overcame a strong head wind to score his maiden win in the novices class, taking the chequered flag with a clear advantage over leading girls Summer Peters and Sydney Ella Patterson, who were second and third respectively. Zack Bellhouse had the edge on Charlotte Nippress, Fearne Bregazzi and Lewis Quirk in the battle for fourth, with Jarno Davidson heading Leah Prentice, Lilli Stewart and Tristan Stewart over the line for eighth. Sophie Hindson completed the top twelve leader board.

Sam Cowin rode away from Alex Andrew, William Curphey and Isaac Batty to notch up his second successive victory in the born 2007 and later age group. Orry Lund outsprinted Archie Dunn for fifth and James Kelly pipped George Kinnish in the bunch gallop for seventh. Jemma Quayle was the first girl in sixteenth place.

A last lap attack in the born 2006 race gave Ivan Sorby his third win of the series. Cian Jackson outgunned Zachary Dowson for second and Corey Peters held off David Sargent, Owen Collins and Logan Glover in dash for fourth. Corbin Stewart, Harry Callin and Spencer Baker came in separately to round off the top ten, with Sophie Smith leading Lula Thomas home to claim the girls' honours in fourteenth spot.

In the born 2005 category Niall Colquitt escaped from a breakaway group of four riders to secure an impressive solo victory. Harry Kneen was a solid second and Oliver Sykes beat Mairi Harrison (first girl) and Teddy Dunn in the battle for the final place on the podium. Oliver Corkish shaded Chloe Dillon for sixth and Harry Boyle secured eighth ahead of Tyler Annis and Alfie Fargher.

Zac Walker was too strong for Dillon Dowson in the tussle for the top two placings in the born 2004 event. Cameron Dudley edged out Oliver Harrison for third and Daniel Keen stayed clear of chasers Toby Craig and Callum Crellin for fifth. Megan Boardman and Nancy Wheeler were the top girls in eighth and ninth positions.

Four riders fought over the spoils at the end of the born 2003 three lapper, with Jonty Bregazzi eventually getting the verdict over Chad Magill, Percy Hampton and Matthew Black. Ramsey's Tyler Hannay overcame Jack Christian and Thomas Skillicorn to grab fifth, while Thomas Young maintained station throughout the race for eighth. Joshua Glover and Matthew Cooil wrapped up the top ten.

Aaron Lund powered ahead of breakaway partners James Harrison, Will Corkill and Corrin Leeming in the sprint at the end of of the born 2002 class. Fifth placed Nicholas Kissack finished just behind the leading quartet and Shellan Leeming took the girls' prize in sixth spot. After a relatively slow start the following born 2001 and earlier event ended in a frantic bunch gallop won by Adam Kelly. Lucas Mudie was second followed by Kaitlin Slack, Alex Cain, Ben Christian, Emma Draper, Joseph Corkish and Sam Batey.

Notching up his second success of the night, Aaron Lund edged out James Harrison in a ten rider fight for the number one slot in the under 10 racing bikes. Will Corkill was third and Charlie Moss the first girl in sixth position. The under 12 racing bikes also ended in a bunch finish, with Tosh Teare taking the honours ahead of Adam Kelly, Conor Gelling, Sam Batey, Max Walker, Ben Christian and top girl Chloe Crellin.

In the under 16 racing bikes Jamie Dudley outsprinted Matthew Davies, Leon Mazzone, Nathan Draper, Matthew Bostock and Joseph Haddock in the final charge for the flag. Matthew Draper led chasers Owen Dudley, Nathan Hinks, Michael Moss, Elizabeth Holden and Conor Davies home for seventh.