Road: Teenager Harry Tanfield wins in Salt Aye Series


Location: Salt Ayre Sports Centre, Lancaster, Lancashire
Event: 31 March 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Round 4 of the Salt Ayre Spring Series was a great advert for the future of road cycling as two teenagers battled it out for the win.

Teamwallis CHH’s Harry Tanfield, 17, was quickest, holding off Mountivation JA’s Josh Knights, who is only 16.

Tanfield and Knights got away from the rest of the field at the beginning of the race and battled it out for the duration of the contest.

It wasn’t until the final lap of the race that Tanfield managed to open up a gap on Knights.

By the end of the race, the Middlesbrough rider had built up a lead of around two seconds over his Isle of Man opponent.

Knights’ team mate, Matt Flynn, was around 10 seconds down in third place and had managed to build up a gap of around 30 seconds over his closest chasers.

The competition for fourth place was fiercely contested but Jack Pullar of Wheelbase secured it with a sprint finish.

It was a sprint finish which also decided the winner of the women’s race with a large pack bunching at the end.

It was Maxgear’s Lauren Brown who edged out the competition to be first over the line with Vicky Annis of VC Bradford and Hannah Layland of VC St Raphael close behind.


Men C+:
1 Harry Tanfield (Teamwallis CHH)
2 Josh Knights (Mountivation JA)
3 Matt Flynn (Mountivation JA)
4 Jack Pullar (Wheelbase)
5 Jack Sadler (Mountivation JA)
6 Julian Pearson (
7 Tom Armstrong (Mountivation JA)
8 Peter Barusevicus (VC Bradford)
9 Andrew Brind-Surch (VC St Raphael)
10 Tony Greenhamolt (Wheelbase)

1 Lauren Brown (Maxgear)
2 Vicky Annis (VC Bradford)
3 Hannah Layland (VC St Raphael)
4 Gabriella Shaw (All Terrain Cycles)
5 Zoe Armstrong (Scott Contessa)
6 Megan Boyd (Sport City Velo)
7 Frances White (Maxgear)
8 Charlotte Newton (H Middleton)
9 Claire Rutherford (Inverse RT)
10 Gabriella Nordin (Sandy Wallace)
Most Aggressive Rider Award:
Jess Atkinson (Salt Ayre Cog Set)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.