Road: Win for Stephen Adams in Redbridge


Location: Redbridge Cycle Circuit
Event: 24 March 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

IN-FORM Stephen Adams (Cycle Premier RT-Kovert) made it three wins for the new season with victory in the feature event of Eagle Road Club’s Spring Circuit Races at Redbridge.

The 23-year-old followed up his March Hare and SERRL successes by outsprinting Will Fox (Zappi’s CC), making his seasonal bow, after 75 minutes of racing on the Hog Hill circuit with Felix English (Rapha Condor Sharp) in third.

The first three and fourth-placed Darren Barclay (Arctic Premier RT) came from a group of around 20 riders which formed at the front early on and split again under the driving of English who, recently returned from the Tour of Taiwan, who put in a powerful attack on the main climb.

“Felix was going really well,” said Adams, 23. “The race split to smithereens.

“We were probably the four strongest guys in the race and it was just a case of rolling through and keeping the gap. Eventually the group behind us sat up and the gap opened.

“It came down a sprint and after a slow approach to the bottom of the hill, three of us seemed to jump at the same time. I managed to get a bit of a gap into the right hand bend and held on.

“It was unexpected - I’d been taking a kicking in the last 20 minutes to half an hour and only came round to feeling good again towards the end.”

Second at the March hare meeting, 24-year-old Lydia Boylan (Look Mum No Hands) went one better to win the London Women’s League round from Astrid Wingler (London Phoenix).


1 Stephen Adams (Cycle Premier RT-Kovert)
2 Will Fox (Zappi’s CC)
3 Felix English (Rapha Condor Sharp)
4 Darren Barclay (Artic Sram RT)
5 Matt Ewing (Revo Racing)
6 Chris Moores (Norwood Paragon CC)
7 Bryan Crump (Eagle RC)
8 Richard De Silva (Stevenage CC)
9 Wojciech Szlachta (Twenty3C-Orbea)
10 Philip Hersey (Eagle RC)
11 Owen Lake (Cambridge CC)
12 David Murrell (London Phoenix)
13 Mike Wragg (Team MK)
14 Nick Baker (Zappi’s CC)
15 Conor Ryan (Performance Cycles)
1 Joe Giggins (PCH)
2 Max Stedman (Palmer Park Velo)
3 Sean Kilroy (Glade CC)
4 Alex Ioannides (Dulwich Paragon CC)
5 Damion Fox (Eagle RC)
6 Colin Bailey (North Road CC)
1 Lydia Boylan (Look Mum No Hands)
2 Astrid Wingler (London Phoenix)
3 Nicola Juniper (Corvida Allpress)
4 Jane McInness (London Dynamo)
5 Anna Grundy (Look Mum No Hands)
6 Emily Barnes (Corvida Allpress)
7 Bethany Hayward (Welwyn Wheelers Youth)
8 Sidham McNamara (Inverse RT)
9 Coralie Glaunes (Pearson Cycles)
10 Louise Fellingham (London Dynamo)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.