Road: Adams takes victory in March Hare


Stephen Adams (Cycle Premier) won the March Hare circuit race at the Redbridge circuit in London on Saturday, edging out rival Harry Franklin (Hargroves Cycles) in the dash for the line.

Adams’ victory in the E123 race – run over an hour and five laps – was the culmination of a good day of racing at the venue which saw races for women, 3/4 category riders and Under-16 and Under-14 youth riders.

“It was a great days racing with 242 riders competing over seven events, if we include the girls as separate races,” said organiser Leslie Everest. “33 women competed in their race, 87 men in the 3/4 and 47 in the E/1/2, so you can see we were dealing with a lot of lapping! The standard of racing was high too.”

Franklin was sixth in the February Flyer event held at the same circuit last month, and improved his placing, but he couldn’t overhaul Adams on the line.

17-year-old Essex-based rider Ben Lamb (Wilier-Live2Ride) won the 3/4 race, while High Wycombe’s Karla Boddy was victorious in the women’s event.

James Tapley (Cambridge Tri Club) was top Youth A boy, while Welwyn Wheelers’ Lucy Tapley was fastest girl in that category. And in the Youth B category, Dan Tullett (Hargroves) was best boy and Rachel Jary (VC Londres) best girl.



1 Stephen Adams Cycle Premier RT 1:15:10

2 Harry Franklin Hargroves Cycles

3 Dan Smith Velo 29

4 Jamie Caldwell Cycle Premier RT

5 Felix Barker Cambridge CC

6 James Jackson Twenty 3C

7 Germain Burton Team De Ver

8 Edward McFarland GT Racing UK

9 Kristan Woolf Kingscliff Flyers

10 Michael Smith Corcex

11 Adam French East London Velo

12 Owen Lake Cambridge CC

313 Josh Green Glendene CC

14 David Palmer Spin Rotor RT

15 Sean Kilroy Glade CC


1 Ben Lamb Wilier Live 2 Ride

2 Edward Parnell Cambridge CC

3 Josuha Lawless Private

4 Luke Hattersley St Ives CC

5 Jack Finch P M Racing

6 Paul Ratcliff Victoria CC

7 Colin Bailey North Road CC

8 Tom Stephenson Colchester Rovers

9 Seb Dickson Thanet RC

10 Colin Ward Essex Roads CC


1 Karla Boddy HWCC RT

2 Lydia Boylan Look Mum No Hands

3 Clare Leaver Team Zappi's

4 Laura Massey Inverse/cyclaim

5 Astrid Winger London Phoenix

6 Tanya Hunt Wyndymilla UK Youth

7 Emily Bagnau Wyndymilla UK Youth

8 Helen McKay Look Mum No Hands

9 Helen Ralston Pearson CC

10 Sian Findlay Team Zappi's

Youth A Boys:

1 James Tapley Cambridge Tri

2 Louis Modell East London Velo

3 Tom Yiangou Chelmer CC

4 Luke Morgan Welwyn Wheelers

5 Max Stedman Palmer Park Velo

6 Cameron Woolsey CC Ashwell

7 Archie Wishart Welwyn Wheelers

8 Louis Magnani Prestige VC

9 George Jary VC Londres

10 Ryan O'Shea JCAYA

Youth A Girls:

1 Lucy Harper Welwyn Wheelers

2 Abbie Dentus Welwyn Wheelers

3 Bryony Board LVYCC

Youth B Boys:

1 Dan Tullett Hargroves CC

2 Anthony Anderson Kingston Wheelers

3 Thomas Finch UCL

4 Jack Plumley Welwyn Wheelers

5 Zak Corum-Haines VC Jubilee

6 Tim Torrie Private

7 Cameron Gutteridge LVYCC

8 Mitch Powell Chelmer CC

Youth B Girls:

1 Rachel Jary VCL

2 Emma Pitt PPV

3 Harriet Mellor Slipstreamers

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.