Road: Stones wins Magic Homes Crit


Location: Hillingdon circuit, London
Event: 3 March 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

BACK on the circuit where he scored his first victory 13 months ago at the start of his debut season, Liam Stones (Team Corley Cycles) took the honours in a tailwind bunch sprint to the feature race of the Magic Homes Criteriums at Hillingdon.

The 22-year-old, from Ecton, near Northampton, led out for the last lap and resisted all challenges to win from Stephen Bradbury (AW Cycles) and Chris Moores (Norwood Paragon CC) in a race which saw a constant stream of breaks and regroupings in the strong wind.

”It was a bit chaotic,” said Stones, fourth in the North Road Hardriders time trial last week. “There were breaks all day, but we caught the last breakaway pair with about five laps to go and managed to control it from there.

“I’ve had a good start to the year, it’s all going well and I hope I can carry it on.”

Added Stones, who came into the sport from a motor cycling background: “I’m chasing points at the moment, I need to get my first category licence to be involved in the bigger races.

“I’m loving it, and really glad that I took up the sport.”


1 Liam Stones (Team Corley Cycles)
2 Stephen Bradbury (AW Cycles)
3 Chris Moores (Norwood Paragon CC)
4 George Withers (AW Cycles)
5 Harry Franklin (Hargroves Cycles)
6 Jerzy Kuzminski (London Phoenix)

1 Phil Dempsey (Aprire Bicycles)
2 Craig Nelson (LRRCC)
3 Paul Butler (Sydenham Wheelers)
4 Richard Bradfield (Dulwich Paragon)
5 Craig McLean (London Dynamo)

1 Ralph Carter (London Dynamo)
2 Paul Crook (Beyond Mountain Bikes)
3 Ian Cooper (Planet X)
4 Vince Halpern (Handsling Racing)
5 Ashley Holding (GB MS Tina)

1 Ben Chapman (Team Corley Cycles)
2 Joe Fry (Welwyn Wheelers)
3 Louis Magnani (Prestige VC)

1 Kim English (Welwyn Wheelers)
2 Lucy Harper (Welwyn Wheelers)
3 Abbie Dentus (Welwyn Wheelers)

1 Dan Tullet (Hargroves Cyvles)
2 Jack Plumley (Welwyn Wheelers)
3 Marcus Burnett (Team Keyne)

1 Harry Tadman (Hillingdon Slipstreamers)
2 Isaac Costley (Hackney)
3 Bede Geoghan-Hart (Hackney)

1 Bethany Lewis (Palmer Park Velo)
2 Megan Panton (Catford CC)
3 Ellie Cooper (Charlotteville CC)

1 Aaron Freeman (Chelmer CC)
2 Harry Towning (Welwyn Wheelers)
3 Ryan Phillips (Maindy Flyers)

1 Jennifer Oliver (Palmer Park Velo)
2 Abby Old (Hillingdon Slipstreamers)

1 Harvey Tadman (Hillingdon Slipstreamers)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.