Road: Moores wins February Flyer


Norwood Paragon CC’s Chris Moores edged out Nick Baker (Zappi’s CC) to take victory in the East London Velo’s February Flyer event on Saturday.

The 29-year-old Tooting rider and Baker have already shown how evenly matched they are throughout the recent East London Velo series and today was no different as Moores managed to win it on the line at the Redbridge Circuit in London.

Last week, the final round of the ELV series was held at the same track and the winds made for difficult conditions for the riders.

But this week was much calmer and the majority of the field stuck close together until two thirds of the race had elapsed.

Nick Baker was the one to break away and lead for a few laps, but he couldn’t escape the attentions of Chris Moores or his brother Ben, who also rides for Norwood Paragon.

Billy-Joe Whenman (PM Racing) also kept pace with the leaders as a pack of five other riders formed just behind them.

On the final lap, Chris Moores and Nick Baker were neck and neck as they sprinted up the hill for the final time.

The race went right down to the wire, with Moores over the line first but Baker, Whenman and Ben Moores were separated by only a couple of seconds by the end.

What they said

“It’s a lumpy track with that big hill and there’s usually a chill from the wind although it wasn’t too bad today,” said winner Chris Moores.

“It’s a really good track and there isn’t really any point where you can get a rest, it’s full on all the way round.

“It’s good to win the season opener, especially as it seems the field is just getting stronger and stronger.”



1 Chris Moores (Norwood Paragon CC)
2 Nick Baker (Zappis CC)
3 Billy-Joe Whenman (PM Racing)
4 Ben Moores (Norwood Paragon CC)
5 Michael Smith (Team Corley Cycles/Blue)
6 Harry Franklin (Hargroves Cycles)
7 Owen Lake (Cambridge CC)
8 Scott Cousins (Maldon and District CC)
9 Alex Peters (Mosquito Bikes)
10 Peter Wager (Felt-Colbornes RT)

1 Fabio Amati (Aprire Bicycles)
2 Ben Chapman (Team Corley Cycles/Blue)
3 Ben Lamb (Willer/Live to Ride)
4 Alex Ioannides (Dulwich Paragon CC)
5 Adam Tapley (Lee Valley CC)
6 Phil Dempsey (Aprire Bicycles)
7 Michael Rostoft (Chelmer CC)
8 Samuel Gilzean (Welwyn Wheelers CC)
9 Robert Purcell (Mountain Trax RT)
10 William Hedden (Glade CC)

Youth ability category ‘A’ Under 16 boys:
1 Joe Fry (Welwyn Wheelers CC)
2 Louis Modell (East London Velo)
3 James Tapley (Lee Valley Youth CC)

Youth ability category ‘B’ Under 14 boys:
1 Dan Tullett (Hargroves Cycles)
2 David Barnes (Condor Cycles)
3 Thomas Finch (VC Londres)

Youth ability category ‘C’ Under 12 boys:
1 Ben Tullett (Hargroves Cycles)
2 Simon Bird (Lee Valley Youth CC)
3 Logan De Monchaux (CC Hackney)

Youth ability category ‘D’ Under 10 boys:
1 Oscar Cowey-Andrea (Hillingdon Slipstreamers)
2 Aaron Freeman (Chelmer CC)
3 William Davies (Welwyn Wheelers)

Youth ability category ‘E’ Under 8 boys:
1 Tom Davies (Welwyn Wheelers)
2 Caelan Miller (Lee Valley Youth CC)
3 Harvey Tadman (Hillingdon Slipstreamers)

Youth ability category ‘B’ Under 14 boys:
1 Dan Tullett (Hargroves Cycles)
2 David Barnes (Condor Cycles)
3 Thomas Finch (VC Londres)

Youth ability category ‘A’ Under 16 girls:
1 Bethany Hayward (Welwyn Wheelers CC)
2 Kimberley English (Welwyn Wheelers CC)
3 Sophie White (London Dynamo)

Youth ability category ‘C’ Under 12 girls:
1 Megon Ponton (Catford CC)
2 Emily Knight (Lee Valley Youth CC)
3 Connie Hayes (Lee Valley Youth CC)

Youth ability category ‘D’ Under 10 girls:
1 Maya Tarlton (Lee Valley Youth CC)
2 Megan Anderton (VC Deal)

Youth ability category ‘E’ Under 8 girls:
1 Elli Malloy (Lee Valley Youth CC)
2 Elidh White (Lee Valley Youth CC)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.