Road: Eastern Region Youth Series 2011

Road: Eastern Region Youth Series 2011


Location: Highams Park Coaching Centre, London
Event: 10 September 2011

The inaugural Eastern Region Youth Road Series (ERYRS) finished with a great afternoon's racing at Highams Park School in East London. With many medals still up for grabs there was some fierce and exciting racing with a few crashes and mechanicals in an incident packed series of races.

A total of 169 different riders took part over the course of the seven rounds in four different age categories, split between boys and girls. These events were held at six different venues throughout the Eastern Region

The closest contested category was in the youth D boys age group. Club mates Harrison Powell and George Pace of Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club came into the last round with both in a position to win the gold medal. In the end the verdict went to Harrison due to his higher finish in the final round. In the youth B boys category Louis Modell (East London Velo) managed to snatch overall victory from James Tapley (Cambridge Tri) by winning the final round.

Both riders are fairly new to the sport and should have a great future ahead of them. Another rider with a triathlon background who took overall victory was Keira Tippett who took the girls C category with four race wins.


Youth D Girls

Gold - Elena Gough Mildenhall CC
Silver - Megan Panton Team Darenth
Bronze - Emily Knight LVYCC

Youth D Boys

Gold - Harrison Powell LVYCC
Silver - George Pace LVYCC
Bronze - Leonard Mitchell CC Hackney

Youth C Girls

Gold - Kiera Tippett Essex Roads CC
Silver - Jessica Feeney-Davies CC Hackney
Bronze - Alexandra Sjolin West Suffolk Wheelers

Youth C Boys

Gold - Michael Parry Welwyn Wheelers
Silver - Theo Modell East London Velo
Bronze - Bob Longstaff Colchester Rovers

Youth B Girls

Gold - Lucy Harper Welwyn Wheelers
Silver - Rebecca Maynard Welwyn Wheelers
Bronze - Lorna Robinson Ipswich BC

Youth B Boys

Gold - Louis Modell East London Velo
Silver - James Tapley Cambridge Tri
Bronze - Mitchell Powell Chelmer CC

Youth A Girls

Gold - Sherilyn Powell Chelmer CC
Silver - Imogen Buick Iceni Velo
Bronze - Chloe Evans Welwyn Wheelers

Youth A Boys

Gold - Cameron Toms Iceni Velo
Silver - Cameron Woolsey CC Ashwell
Bronze - Theo Doncaster CC Ashwell