Opie Wins Cornish Series Round 12


Location: RAF Portreath, Redruth, Cornwall
Event: 10 September 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

Pendragon-Le Col rider Chris Opie took victory in the penultimate round of the Cornish Series at RAF Portreath near Redruth on Saturday.

The 24-year-old from Truro took the win ahead of Primal Europe rival James Williams, while third spot looks to be enough for Scott Tomkinson (Southfork Racing) to take the overall series.

Tomkinson, 28 and from Bodmin, is now ten points ahead at the top of the table with one race remaining, while his team-mate Mark Barlow finished sixth and will now need to win the final round - and hope Tomkinson doesn't score - to draw level.

The race for the overall series win is closer in the women's category, where just four points separate the top two with Rhiannon Smallworth (Primal Europe) on 84 and Gail Aspden (Squadra Donne) on 80.

But they both had to settle for the minor placings in Saturday's penultimate round, with Exeter Wheelers' Lucy Commander taking the win ahead of 1st Chard Wheelers' Weibke Rietz, while Fleur Stoops (Primal Europe) took third place.

In the 3/4 cat section, runaway series leader Jake Alderman (One and All Cycling) was absent, so Penzance Wheelers' Luke Pye took the win from Phil Coad (WR Racing) and Adrian Clode (Revo Racing).

Jeremy Gusterson won the 4th cat race from Newquay Velo's Jason McGowan, while Royal Navy/Royal Marine CA rider Darren Stanley was third.

The final round of the series will be held on Saturday, September 24.


E/1/2/3, National B:
1 Chris Opie (Pendragon-Le Col)
2 James Williams (Primal Europe)
3 Scott Tomkinson (Southfork Racing)
4 James Smith (Primal Europe)
5 Junior Heffernan (Pendragon-Le Col)
6 Mark Barlow (Southfork Racing)
7 Robert Willcocks (Primal Europe)
8 Mark Mullen (Primal Europe)
9 Paul Hooper (Ride RT)
10 Adam Bright (Revo Racing)

Women, National B:
1 Lucy Commander (Exeter Wheelers)
2 Weibke Rietz (1st Chard Wheelers)
3 Fleur Stoops (Primal Europe)
4 Heather Booth (Primal Europe)
5 Debbie Hancock (Shred Racing)
6 Lyndsey Glazier (unattached)
7 Gail Aspden (Squadra Donne)
8 Rhiannon Smallworth (Primal Europe)
9 Sorrelle Le Cornu (Primal Europe)

3/4, Regional B:
1 Luke Pye (Penzance Wheelers)
2 Phil Coad (WR Racing)
3 Adrian Clode (Revo Racing)
4 Tony Farnell (One and All)
5 Sam Whittlesea (Pro Bike Kit)
6 Martin Lenney (Mountain Trax)
7 Garry James (Penzance Wheelers)
8 David Bartlett (Cyclelogic)
9 Colin Martin (Mid-Devon CC)
10 Owen Owen (unattached)

4th cat, Regional C+:
1 Jeremy Gusterson (unattached)
2 Jason McGowan (NEwquay Velo)
3 Darren Stanley (RNRMCA)

1 Jack H
2 Kye Martin (Mid-Devon CC)
3 Stan Thompson (One and All)

1 Seb Dickens (unattached)
2 Hester Stembridge (CS South Hams)

1 Ryan White (1st Chard Wheelers)
2 Alex Ford (Taw Velo)
3 Megan Wherry (One and All)

1 Lewis Ross (Taw Velo)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.