Road: White Wins Fenland Clarion RR


Cycle Premier's Jason White Wins Fenland Clarion RR
Location: Sawtry, Cambridgeshire
Event: 21 August 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

CYCLE Premier-Metaltek's in-form rider Jason White took victory in the Fenland Clarion Road Race in Cambridgeshire on Sunday, sprinting clear of his ten breakaway rivals at the end of the 90-mile race.

Run over a relatively flat course with just two climbs on the ten-mile circuit, the pace was high and saw the field whittled down as the strong riders came to the fore. Early showers gave way to sunshine but a rising wind also helped toughen up the riders.

The decisive break went clear on the fifth lap of a circuit around Great Gidding, with a few punctures causing problems for the bunch in chasing down the escapees.

The break quickly established a lead of around a minute and a half, and with most of the big teams well represented in the leading group there was little impetus to chase from those who had missed the split.

On the line White, 38 and from Southend, took victory from Science in rival Adam Duggleby, the 26-year-old Yorkshireman who had won the majority of the primes throughout the race.

And third spot went to Twenty 3C-Orbea rider Adam Griffiths from Ludlow, who held off Forme-Impsport's Jack Adams.

The supporting Regional B race for 3/4 cat riders used the same course but covered just six laps.

CC Ashwell's Jeremy Ross, 26 and from Royston in Hertfordshire, took victory in the supporting race when he held off the challenge of his four breakaway companions.

With just a lap and a half remaining Tom Sexton (Welland Valley CC) was soloing to victory, but he was caught on the final lap by the chasing few and dropped through the field out of contention.

And in the sprint for the line, Ross held off Ed Ashby (unattached), while Braintree Velo's Stefan Van Loup was third.


1 Jason White (Cycle Premier-Metaltek) 3:32:00
2 Adam Duggleby (Science in
3 Adam Griffiths (Twenty 3C-Orbea)
4 Jack Adams (Forme-Impsport)
5 Richard Cartland (Team Corley Cycles)
6 Jamie Cawswell (St Ives CC)
7 Alistair Slater (Hargroves Cycles)
8 Wojciech Szlachta (Pasta Montegrappa)
9 Matthew Higgins (Team Corley Cycles)
10 Andrew Hastings (Finchley RT) all @ same time

1 Jeremy Ross (CC Ashwell) 2:25:00
2 Ed Ashby (unattached)
3 Stefan Van Loup (Braintree Velo)
4 Phil Hargreaves (Norwich ABC) all @ same time
5 Alex Avery (Spalding CC) @ 10sec
6 Jonathan Munns (North Road Club) @ 45sec
7 Paul Bird (Virgin Active)
8 Kristian Mobbs (Stowmarket & Dist Wh)
9 Andy Defraters (Braintree Velo)
10 Tom Caldwell (St Ives CC)