Copeland Wins Victor Belemont Trophy

Copeland Wins Victor Belemont Trophy


Location: Binhams Meadow, Dunsfold
Event: 10 August 2011

On a beautiful racing day in Surrey there were 54 starters from Dunsfold Common for the 140km race of three laps of the Alfold Circuit and seven laps of the 12km finishing circuit.

A strong field of elite, 1st, 2nd and 3rd cat, and junior riders started the race and it proved to be a very competitive event with a group of 18 riders splitting the field after 25km establishing a 50 second lead which steadily increased, in the break the driving force being the three Sigma riders of Copeland, Betts and Sybrandy, along with Atkins of Obrea. Also in the group, returning to racing after a rest from his Belgium trip, was junior Dante Carpenter.

After completing the first circuit the time gap was steadily increasing with Sybrandy returning to the leading group after a solo effort and mechanical trouble. Although the gap was ever increasing there were groups and individual efforts from riders to bridge the gap to the breakaway group. With 20km to go a very likely looking trio of riders, Betts, Parry and Falder established what looked to be a winning break of 50 seconds, but with Sybrandy and Copeland left in the breakaway group and blocking it looked to be a winning move, however, with the group breaking up they were finally brought back within 8km due to a headwind on the long straight.

From there, another solo effort by Adam Cotterell from Wyndy Milla also looked as if it could be
successful and as a result of his efforts he was awarded the Combativity Cup. With 5km to go perhaps the two strongest riders in the race, Copeland and Hastings, slipped away from the remaining break after an attempt by Andy Betts to ride away which failed. The two were helped again by the blocking tactics of Betts and Sybrandy which helped the duo to have a free run to the finish, with a 35 second advantage.

It was a very tricky finish coming off the circuit with 400m remaining of a short, sharp climb up to 200m and a final 100m of flat road to the line. It was Copeland who proved to be the strongest rider and a very worthy winner of the Victor Berlemont Trophy but credit must also go to Andy Hastings for a fine effort in pushing him all the way. The remainder of the break was lead in by Andy Betts, holding off Lewis Atkins, with junior, Dante Carpenter finishing in a top ten position.

The race ran exceedingly well and the organisers were most grateful for all the assistance from the officials, NEGS and most all the tremendous turn-out of marshals which made a worthy Victor Berlemont Race.


1. Tom Copeland Sigma Sport- Specialized 03:22:37
2. Andy Hastings Finchley RT st
3. Andy Betts La Fuga - Sigma Sport at 28secs
4. Lewis Atkins Twenty 3c Orbea st
5. Colin Parry st
6. Dean Shannon Twenty 3c Orbea st
7. Flavio Zappi Team Zappis at 1.34
8. Dante Carpenter Asfra RT at 1.39
9. Wouter Sybrandy Sigma Sport- Specialized at 1.45
10. Adam Cotterell Wyndymilla at 2.48
11. Martin Smith Primal Europe st
12. Andy Udal Mammoth Lifestyle RT st
13. Chris McNamara Team Corley Cycles st
14. Anthony Moye CC Luton st
15. Russell Falder Mammoth Lifestyle RT st
16. Guy Powdrill London Dynamo / Prologue at 2.58
17. Derek Bouchard-Hall BC Private at 3.16
18. Richard Cartland Team Corley Cycles at 7.10
19. Douglas Coleman Anders Electronic / TMG Horizon st
20. David Kennett GB at 7.14
21. Michael Brown Progressive Cycle Coaching at 8.01
22. Andy Edwards Kingston Wheelers at 8.46
23. Nick Beale Beeline RT at 8.51
24. Robin Parker East Grinstead at 9.56
25. Chris Boote Team Zappis st
26. Pete Smith Team Jewson st
27. Joe Harris Reading CC st
28. David Murrell London Phoenix st
29. Chris Snook Banjo Cycles st
30. Lawrence Carpenter Rapha Condor CC at 10.01
31. Paul McGuigan Norwood Paragon at 10.10
32 Graham Hills InGear Quickvit RT st
33. Henry Latimer Team Zappis at 10.19
34. Mike Betts Vegetarian C&AC st
35. David Seager Kingsnorth International Wheelers st
36. Charlie Fawke Progressive Cycle Coaching st