Bottomley takes Memorial Series victory

Bottomley takes Memorial Series victory


Location: Middlesborough Cycle Circuit
Event: 2nd August 2011

The Martyn Dobson Memorial Series was filled with thrills and even spills in the course of the action as Alex Bottomley snatched the win at the death.

Martin Axon (Velo29) kicked off the sprint with nearly a full lap to go, but was beaten into third place by Martin Hopkinson (Fietsen Tempo) and the comeback king Graham Topp (Stockton Wheelers). Martin now holds the Green Jersey

The race came back together just a lap after the sprint. Immediately the attacks started, Marcus Smith (Black Hawk Bikes) and Michael Dales (Velo29) were in the first break, but this was short lived. Then it was Richard Meadows (now of Velo29) who launched a blistering solo attack. Next it was the turn of race organiser Dan Smith (Velo29) who stayed out front on his own for several laps before being caught by brother Marcus. This break lasted until less than 20 laps to go before eventually being reeled in.

But the main break of the day was led away by Rob Carter (Velo29), Alex Bottomley (Fietsen Tempo), Taylor Cardus (Velo29) and a bit later Michael Dales (Velo29). Despite huge efforts by Herbalife Wheelbase rider Simon Baxter to bring the break back, the leading 4 managed to stay away until two laps to go.

Velo29 had it won with three riders in the break and a climber to dispose of in the run in but disaster struck as Rob and Taylor both crashed out with just two laps to go! Young Alex took advantage of the confusion to forge away on his own, and he took victory by about 10 bike lengths from Michael Dales.  Leading the bunch home was the consistent Giles Pidcock in third place.


1. Alex Bottomley (Fietsen Tempo)
2. Michael Dales (Velo29)
3. Giles Pidcock (Epic Cycles)
4. David Johnson (Adept Precision)
5. Richard Meadows (Velo29)
6. Marcus Smith (BlackHawk)
7. Kevin Byers (Fietsen Tempo)
8. Alex Hopper (Velo29)
9. Graham Topp (Stockton Wheelers)
10. S Johnson

Overall Standings

1. Richard Meadows, 21 points
2. Giles Pidcock, 16 points
3. Alex Bottomley, 15 points
4. David Johnson, 13 points
5. Michael Dales, 11 points
6. Marcus Smith, 10 points

Youth Racing

As usual the youth racing kicked off proceedings with the C, D and E categories doing eight laps, followed by the A & B cats who raced for 15 laps.

The winners of each category were:

Boys A: Bradley Naughton
Girls A: Alice Grieve
Boys B: Matthew Worton
Boys C: Nathan Smith
Boys D: Connor Eyeington
Girls D: Abi Smith
Boys E: Patrick Kilkullen
Girls E: Hannah Liddel