Preview: Women's Circuit Champs

Preview: Women's Circuit Champs


National Women's Circuit Race Championships│
Location: Preston, Lancashire
Event: 7th August 2011

Hannah Barnes took the championship last year

Alongside the final Elite Circuit Series event, Preston also hosts the National Women's Circuit Race Championships on Sunday 7th August with a strong field set for the noon start.

Reigning champion and number one ranked Category 1 rider Hannah Barnes (Motorpoint) returns hoping to repeat last year's feat but she will face stiff competition to keep her crown.  Dani King (Horizon Fitness Racing Team), fresh from her medal success at the UEC U23 European Track Championships, will be amongst the favourites whilst Barnes' teammate Lucy Garner, who was also amongst the medals in Portugal, will be eying the title and the number one ranking spot as she sits just 45 points behind Barnes.

King's teammate at Horizon Hannah Rich has spent much of the last six weeks on the continent racing in the Internationale Thüringen Rundfahrt der Frauen and Tour de Feminin, and will be no doubt hoping the experience gained can help her challenge.

As with the Elite Men's race, the course is set in the heart of Preston in a 1km town centre circuit, starting at the Covered Market on Earl Street, before turning left onto Lancaster Road, Ormskirk Road, then into Ringway, left into Friargate, left onto Orchard Street and finally back to the Covered Market.

Rider List

Elinor  Barker  Cardiff Ajax
Brit  Tate  Dirtwheels
Racheal  Bamford  Dirtwheels Cycles
Deborah  Stockley  Dirtwheels Cycles
Kara  Chesworth  For Viored Brookvex
Gabriella  Shaw  For Viored Brookvex
Hayley  Edwards  Halesowen A&CC
Molly  Weaver  Halesowen A&CC
Horizon Fitness - Prendas
Sarah  Storey  Horizon Fitness Prendas
Ella  Sadler Andrews  Horizon Fitness Prendas Ciclis
Dani  King  Horizon Fitness Racing Team
Penny  Rowson  Horizon Fitness Racing Team
Katie  Noakes  Inverse Racing
Nicola  Juniper  Inverse Rt
Eileen  Roe  Leslie Bikes Right Move Window
Jess Anderson
Maxgear/Champion Systems RT
Eve  Dixon  Maxgear RT
Melissa  Bury  Maxgear/Champion Systems RT
Hannah  Barnes  Motorpoint
Lucy  Garner  Motorpoint
Sarah  King  Motorpoint
Harriet  Owen  Motorpoint
Hannah  Shenton  Motorpoint
Hannah  Walker  Motorpoint
Louise  Mahe  Mule Bar Girls
Sarah  Smith  North Cheshire Clarion
Jessie  Walker  RST - Trigon Racing Team
Anda-Jay  Burgess  Sandy Wallace Cycles
Tamina  Oliver  Squadra Donne
Iona  Sewell  Squadradonne-Bikefood/Shuttvr
Corrine  Hall  Team Corridori
Anne  Ewing  Thebicycworks.Com
Ceri Dipple Twenty3c-Orbea
Marianne  Britten  VC St Raphael
Sarah  Byrne  VC St Raphael
Laura  Murray  Velocity 44
Jane  Barr  Velocity 44 Stirling
Kate  Evans  Wolverhampton Wheelers