Update: Tour de France Stage 3


Following the British Riders in the Tour de France: Stage 3

2011 Tour de France Homepage


Bradley Wiggins signs autographs prior to the start of the third stage (AP Photo/Laurent Cipriani)


The post-race Twitter agenda was dominated by the decision to disqualify Cavendish and Hushovd from the stage's intermediate sprint. Cavendish's post-stage tweets neatly trace his mood, beginning with initial disappointment at the result:

NOT HAPPY! We came up a bit short so I tried to let some riders in @ 2km. Last corner tangled with Rojas & Feillu. Lost 30m. Salvaged 5th.

This then ramped up a level at the news that he'd also missed out on the intermediate sprint points due to that debatable commissairing decision.

Just discovered Thor & I have been disqualified from the intermediate sprint today. Seriously no idea why?! #devastated.

But, positive thoughts never seem too far away and he's soon making the the very valid point that he almost got into a position to win the stage, despite that last corner incident, before going on to credit his great rival, Thor Hushovd's sportsmanship and even remembering to congratulate the stage winner.

But teams better note @MarkCavendish in 5th from nowhere.

Just heard that Thor's offered to take the punishment solely. What a true gentleman. I reckon it won't change ****-all though.

And congratulations to Farrar on his first Tour victory. Great for the Americans too on July 4th.

And, with calm once again returning, he concluded a busy evening with a humorous dig at his boss

My sport director, Brian Holm's just got the @HTC ChaCha. It's a 'Facebook phone'. He doesn't have Facebook. Or know how to use a smartphone

Cavendish and Hushovd's punishment brought puzzled and angry reaction from several people with opinions that count. John Herety, boss of the the British Rapha Condor Sharp Team tweeted his support and more than hinted that some of the decisions by the Tour officials have a sub-text:

With you all the way mate. This is now personal. Thor's reaction to it, is very honourable. But won't change a thing.

Whilst Sky's sprinter Chris Sutton was even more direct:

Seriously W** is wit the UCI relegating @MarkCavendish & Thor for touching. Evryone pls keep seats level and no touching

Chris Boardman was equally at a loss to understand the decision

Just heard Cav and Hushovd DQ'd from the intermediate sprint! Unbelievable......

Just heard Commissar explain decision RE intermediate sprint. will be in tonights program. I am still speechless......

Cycle Sport Magazine take the prize for the funniest Tweet on the subject:

Anquetil and Poulidor DQed from 1964 Tour for leaning on each other on Puy de Dome. Congratulations to Federico Bahamontes, the new winner.

Away from the controversy, Geraint Thomas was lacing his Tweets with humour and hinting at both the growing rivalry with and respect for the garmin team. Oh, and not his first reference to Welsh cakes. A suound recommendation!

Great to see so many enthusiastic fans out cheering today. But please stay OFF the road!! We go pretty fast on the flat...

That was some hectic finish!! Unfortunately the boys lost my wheel, next time... By the way, it's easier said than done to 'just keep going'

Just tucking into some welsh cakes with Eddie the boss, he cant get enough. No better way to end the day!!

Thanks for the messages we gave all we had. Hats off to the Garmin lads. Smoking!!


Geraint Thomas and Ben Swift on haircuts and the Team Time Trial

Ben Swift looks back on Stage 3


No significant movement by the British riders in the race and on General Classification all five remain in the top 23 places overall.

Stage Result

1 Tyler Farrar (USA) Team Garmin-Cervelo 4:40:21
2 Romain Feillu (Fra) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
3 Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar Team
4 Sébastien Hinault (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
5 Mark Cavendish (GBr) HTC-Highroad
6 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Team Garmin-Cervelo
7 Julian Dean (NZl) Team Garmin-Cervelo
8 Borut Bozic (Slo) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
9 André Greipel (Ger) Omega Pharma-Lotto
10 Jimmy Engoulvent (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
15 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Sky Procycling
44 Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Sky Procycling
66 Ben Swift (GBr) Sky Procycling
126 David Millar (GBr) Team Garmin-Cervelo

General classification after stage 3
1 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Team Garmin-Cervelo 9:46:46
2 David Millar (GBr) Team Garmin-Cervelo
3 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team 0:00:01
4 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Sky Procycling 0:00:04
5 Linus Gerdemann (Ger) Leopard Trek
6 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky Procycling
7 Fränk Schleck (Lux) Leopard Trek
8 Andy Schleck (Lux) Leopard Trek
9 Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Leopard Trek
10 Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Sky Procycling
17 Mark Cavendish (GBr) HTC-Highroad
23 Ben Swift (GBr) Sky Procycling 0:00:11

Points classification
1 Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar Team 64 pts
2 Tyler Farrar (USA) Team Garmin-Cervelo 58
3 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Team Garmin-Cervelo 54
4 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto 51
5 Mark Cavendish (GBr) HTC-Highroad 37
6 Romain Feillu (Fra) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team 36
7 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team 35
8 Denis Galimzyanov (Rus) Katusha Team 28
9 Sébastien Hinault (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 26
10 Borut Bozic (Slo) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team 26
13 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Sky Procycling 22

Teams classification
1 Team Garmin - Cervelo 28:30:42
2 BMC Racing Team 0:00:01
3 Team Leopard-Trek 0:00:04
4 Sky Procycling
5 HTC - Highroad 0:00:05
6 Team Radioshack 0:00:10
7 Pro Team Astana 0:00:32
8 Omega Pharma - Lotto 0:00:33
9 Team Europcar 0:00:50