Wiggins, Thomas & Swift in Tour Squad

Wiggins, Thomas & Swift in Tour Squad

Bookmark    and Share 
Follow britishcycling.org.uk on
Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr

Wiggins, Thomas & Swift in Sky's Tour Squad

Squad Announced: 23 June 2011
Image: Jeff Moore

Team Sky have announced their nine-man team for the 98th edition of the Tour de France, starting on 2 July and it includes three British riders, Bradley Wiggins, Geraint Thomas and Ben Swift.

Bradley Wiggins, who came fourth in 2009 to equal the best ever Tour de France finish by a British rider, and recently won the prestigious Critérium du Dauphiné, will lead the squad. Geraint Thomas will be riding his third Tour de France, and Ben Swift will be making his debut in the event.

Talented young Norwegian Edvald Boasson Hagen will make his second Tour de France appearance after last year's debut where he secured two podium finishes. Joining him will be Colombia's Rigoberto Urán, both having proved key strengths in the mountains at the Critérium du Dauphiné.

The line up features experienced Grand Tour riders including Spanish duo Juan Antonio Flecha, who will be making his ninth Tour de France appearance, and Xabier Zandio, who has previously ridden in the event five times. They will be joined by Germany's reigning Road Race Champion Christian Knees, who will be riding in his ninth Grand Tour, and Simon Gerrans, previous stage winner in all three Grand Tours.

Team Sky have also revealed that all kit, bikes, equipment and vehicles will change from blue to green for all 21 stages of the race to help raise awareness and support for Sky Rainforest Rescue, a three year partnership between Sky and WWF to help save a billion trees in the state of Acre, northwest Brazil.

Full story plus lots more on the build-up to the Tour on our sister website teamsky.com