Road: Kalas Cup Win for James Smith

Bookmark    and Share
Follow on

Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr

Kalas Cup Win for James Smith

Team Tor 2000, 18-19 June 2011
Merryfield Airfield, Ilton, Somerset
Report: Snowdon Sports

AFTER four hard stages, James Smith (Primal Europe-Rutraining) won the Kalas Cup Two-Day Race in Somerset by just 11 seconds following a closely-fought battle.

A solo victory on stage four, in which he crossed the line alone and 23 seconds ahead of his nearest rival, was enough to give Smith the overall victory ahead of rival Colin Parry.

Smith was lying 24th after the opening prologue time trial, 30 seconds behind early leader Richard Oram (Revo Racing), whose time of 6:34 put him just five seconds ahead of second-placed Matt Clinton (Composite 2, Mike Vaughan Cycles).

Parry staked his claim for victory in the second stage, clocking 1-05-51 for the circuit race and finishing six seconds clear of Revo Racing's Adam Bright, while both Oram and Smith were another three seconds back in the bunch.

The Team Time Trial saw Bright and Oram hit back with Revo Racing winning from, while Smith's Primal Europe team were fourth.

But Smith did just enough in the final road stage on Sunday to take the win. He crossed the line 23 seconds ahead of Adeo Cadence RT rider Simon Snowden, who just held off Joshua Yetman (Team Tor 2000) was inches.

And Smith's win was enough for Primal Europe Rutraining-Bike Chain Ricci to secure the team prize too, finishing just five seconds ahead of Wilier, while Adeo Cadence finished third out of just six teams who managed to finish enough riders to qualify.

Stage One (ITT):

1 Richard Oram (Revo Racing) 6:34
2 Matt Clinton (Composite 2, Mike Vaughan Cycles) @ 5sec
3 Lubos Obornik (Revo Racing) @ 7sec
4 Gary Chambers ( @ 10sec
5 Colin Parry ( @ 11sec
6 Ben Anstie (Adeo Cadence) @ 12sec

Stage Two (Circuit Race):
1 Colin Parry ( 1:05:51
2 Adam Bright (Revo Racing) @ 6sec
3 Ben Simmons (Dragons Fund, Team Wiggle) @ same time
4 Pete Johnston (Composite 2, Pendragon Le Col) @ 9sec
5 James Tank-Lewis (Dragons Fund, Port Talbot Wh)
6 Peter Georgi (Giant CC) all @ same time

Stage Three (Team Time Trial):
1 Revo Racing 20:10
2 @ 4sec
3 Composite 2 @ 7sec
4 Primal Europe @ 21sec
5 Team Tor 2000 @ 22sec
6 Giant CC @ 23sec

Stage Four (Road Race):
1 James Smith (Primal Europe-RUtraining) 2:56:16
2 Simon Snowden (Adeo Cadence) @ 23sec
3 Joshua Yetman (Team Tor 2000) @ same time
4 James Williams (Primal Europe) @ 56sec
5 Colin Parry (
6 Martin Smith (Primal Europe) all @ same time

Final Overall:
1 James Smith (Primal Europe-RUtraining) 4:29:21
2 Colin Parry ( @ 11sec
3 Adam Bright (Revo Racing) @ 28sec
4 Matt Clinton (Composite 2, Mike Vaughan Cycles) @ 47sec
5 Gary Chambers ( @ 49sec
6 Joshua Yetman (Team Tor 2000) @ same time
7 Peter Haworth (Revo Racing) @ 52sec
8 James Williams (Primal Europe) @ 54sec
9 Ben Anstie (Adeo Cadence) @ 1:11
10 Martin Smith (Primal Europe) @ same time