Yates Wins CC Giro Junior Race

Yates Wins CC Giro Junior Race


Bookmark    and Share  Follow britishcycling.org.uk on  Follow        British Cycling on Facebook  Follow British        Cycling on Twitter Visit our        Youtube Channel Visit our        images on Flickr

Yates Wins CC Giro Junior Race

Story posted June 26, 2010; by Richard Robotham

North West Junior Simon Yates (Maxgear RT) made it two wins in a row in the British Cycling National Junior Road Race Series by taking first place in today's round at Curborough Sprint Circuit near Lichfield. The race was delayed but restarted after a minor confusion at the start. From the off, the 59 strong field were soon at full speed.

The sun broke through the clouds temporarily but the breeze helped keep the hot and muggy temperature bearable for the riders. After only 10 minutes of racing, Simon Yates (Maxgear RT), George Moore (CC Giro) and Matt Bailey (Kuota Road CC) broke away from the peloton. The punishing pace started to take its toll and after twenty minutes of racing, Yates and Bailey dropped back to the peloton leaving George Moore out on his own for a further two laps.

The riders in the peloton now had the leader in their sight and as they crossed the line, Perry Bowater (CC Giro) attacked off the front of the peloton, taking the lead from George Moore. Bowater's attack didn't last very long as he was soon reeled back into the fold. After 35 minutes, the National Champion Daniel McLay (Hargroves Cycles), Tom Moses (Glendene CC) and Adam Yates (Maxgear RT) broke away to take a small lead over the peloton and the race settled a little as they tapped out the laps.

The leaders were now being hotly pursued by Simon Yates (Maxgear RT), Sam Harrison (Planet X) Joe Kelly (Team Isle of Man) and Alex Murison (Glendene CC). With five laps to go, the three leaders were still just ahead of the chasers with the peloton nearly 49 seconds behind. With four to go, the National Champion Daniel McLay attacked but he couldn't maintain the break and eventually dropped back to the chasers leaving Tom Moses to take the lead. The leaders were then caught by the chasing group just before the line as they saw three to go.

Joe Kelly (Team Isle of Man) glued himself to the wheel of Simon Yates as he attacked from the leaders. Then, working together, they kept themselves ahead of the field for the rest of the race and battled it out to the finish line, where only a wheel separated them. The five riders in the chasing group also had a close finish as they sprinted for the minor placings.

After two consecutive wins Simon said afterwards "I have had two wins in a row now and I am really pleased with today's win as I have had quite a hard week this week.  It was a really hard circuit, harder than I remember when I rode it at sixteen. I managed to catch the break with Sam Harrison, Al Murison and a lad from the Isle of Man and we went well for a while. Then I thought I would give it some and tried to get away with the Isle of Man rider. I didn't realise the finish would be so close as I thought I had got a gap but when I looked behind me, he was right there, so I put my head down and made sure I got it. These two wins have helped boost my confidence, and help me get another good win in the upcoming races this season.


1. Simon Yates Maxgear RT
2. Joe Kelly Team Isle Of Man
3. Alex Murison Glendene CC
4. Daniel McLay Hargroves Cycles
5. Adam Yates Maxgear RT
6. Sam Harrison Planet X
7. Tom Moses Glendene CC
8. Matt Bailey Kuota Road CC
9. Jack Bowyer Team Wallis
10. Tom Gregory Halesowen A & CC

3rd and 4th Catergory

The all day racing started with an hour long race for 3rd and 4th category riders. Thirty one riders took to the start. The race was steady through out only punctuated by prime sprints, until the last 5 laps when Neil Hayward (Stourbridge CC) tried to breakaway. Unfortunately it  only lasted for two and half laps when the peloton finally caught him. The peloton remained together until the finish resulting in a bunch sprint at the end which was won by Paul Bennett (Melton Olympic).

1.  Paul Bennett  Melton Olympic
2.  David Green Scunthorpe Poly
3. Mick Davies  Lichfield CC

Youth D

The riders in the Youth D race attacked from the start in this high paced race however the peloton remained together stopping all break away attempted. This, resulted in a bunch sprint finish which was won on the line by Matthew Lewis (Wolverhampton Wheelers).

1. Matthew Lewis Wolverhampton Wheelers
2. William Draper  am Royal London 360 Isle of Man
3. Harry Tadman  Central Region

Youth C

As with the Youth D race, the tempo of the race in the Youth C category was very high from the beginning with the race soon splitting into two groups. The stronger riders at the head of the race kept up the pressure and despite the rising temperatures, the lead group remained together until the last lap where Charlotte Broughton (Eastlands Velo) took to the front of field taking a clear win.

1.  Charlotte Broughton  Eastlands Velo
2. Matthew Walls Eastlands Velo.
3. Reece Wood  Aire Valley Racing Team.

Youth E

A welcome breeze helped the nine riders in the Youth E category race. Four riders broke away early in the race and stayed ahead throughout playing a game of cat and mouse right up to the last lap, where  Elliot Waters (Plan B) and Jack Rootkin-Gray (Solihull CC) battled it out in sprint to the line.

1.  Elliot Waters Plan B
2.  Jack Rootkin-Gray  Solihull CC
3. Connor Smith  LCCC 

Youth A and B Girls
Sisters Lucy and Grace Garner (Leicestershire RC) won their respective age group races today in the combined Youth A and B Girls circuit race. A small crash in the first lap of the Youth B girls event didn’t stop them from catching the Youth A riders despite a 30 second lead. The peloton stayed together  for most of the 45 minute race. An attack by Amy Hill (Newport Velo) and Jessie Walker (Dinnington RC) with two laps to go was soon reeled back in by the peloton to give a large bunch sprint for the line, which was won by Lucy Garner.

Youth A
1.  Lucy Garner  Leicestershire RC
2.  Emily Kay HACC
3. Elinor Barker  Cardiff Ajax.

Youth B
1.  Grace Garn er  Leicestershire RC
2.  Lauren O’Brien  Wakefield Junior Tri Club
3. Bethany Hayward Welwyn Wheelers

Youth B Boy

A good field of 38 riders took to the circuit for the Youth B Boys race.  The race got off to a fast start for the 55 minute race. An early strong attack by Francis Webb (Edinburgh RC) was swallowed up by the peloton after only one lap. The riders then took turns at the head of the race peloton which remained together for the rest of the race culminating with a large bunch finish which was won by Max Nethell (Cardiff Ajax)

1.  Max Nethell Cardiff Ajax
2.  Charlie Tanfield Velo 30
3. Dan Pearson  Port Talbot

Youth A Boys

Fifty seven riders took to the start line for the hour long Youth A Boys race. A steady tempo ensued for the first half of the race.  Ben Green (Sportscity Velo) launched an attack but was chased down by Alex Minting (Planet X),  Luc Hall (Team Kuota) and James Locker (HACC). Once they grouped together, the impetus was lost and the peloton closed the gap. There was only one other significant attack during the race by Jim Lewis (Glendene CC) who managed to stay away until the final lap when the peloton's pace increased bridging the gap. This resulted in a bunch sprint finish which was won by Chris Latham (Sports City Velo)

1.  Chris Latham  Sports City Velo
2.  Harry Tanfield  Velo 29
3. Alex Minting  Planet X