Maiden Win For Bunn In Women's Series

Maiden Win For Bunn In Women's Series


Maiden Win For Bunn In Women's Series

Naseby, Northants, 50 miles
Event: 24th July 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

TIMING her effort to perfection, Lowri Bunn (Abergavenny RC) won Sunday's round of the National Women's Team Race Series on the testing Naseby circuit - her first road race victory.

Bunn made her strength tell on the deceptive finishing hill as she edged out national junior champion Hannah Barnes (Motorpoint) by three seconds with third place going to Karla Boddy (Impsport Team A).

A field of 50 riders lined up with Motorpoint looking to extend their overall lead in the team standings, and any attacks were quickly brought back as the field stayed largely intact apart from a few who were tailed off on the climb at the end of each lap.

Barnes had to chase back after suffering a rear wheel puncture with a lap to go, but it was Bunn who had the final say as, led out by team-mate Lauren Creamer, she responded to an attack by Sarah Byrne (VC St Raphael) and hit the front with 600 metres to go.

"I didn't feel too good for the first laps, but I hing in and found something at the end," said the delighted winner. I rode the five-day Ras de Cymru stage race and it took me the week after to recover, but obviously it did me a lot of good."


1 Lowri Bunn (Abergavenny RC) 2-31-20

2 Hannah Barnes (Motorpint) at 3sec

3 Karla Boddy *Impsport Team A)

4 Eve Dixon (Maxgear Champion Systems RT)

5 Sarah Byrne (VC St Raphael)

6 Kim Ashton(Inverse Cyclaim RT)

7 Lauren Creamer (Abergavenny RC)

8 Anna Grundy (Look Mum No Hands)

9 Lydia Boylan (Look Mum No Hands)

10 Tania Hunt (Surrey League) all @ same time

Teams: 1 Abergavenny RC 220 pts, 2 Inverse Cyclaim RT 218, 3 Motorpoint 206.