Great Britain conclude 2013 Jayco Herald Sun Tour

Great Britain conclude 2013 Jayco Herald Sun Tour


Great Britain’s Simon Yates concluded his encouraging 2013 Jayco Herald Sun Tour with a seventh place finish in the third and final stage.

Richard Lang finished in 50th and Graham Briggs 76th as only three of the six Great Britain Cycling Team riders remained for the final stage - a 93km journey from Moonah Links to Arthurs Seat - following the retirements of Sam Lowe, Chris Latham and Alistair Slater earlier in the tour.

Yates, on the British Cycling Olympic Academy Programme, came home in the peloton behind a break of six from which the winner was eventually decided.

Nathan Earle took the stage whilst Calvin Watson became the youngest ever winner in 60 editions of Australia’s oldest stage race.

Results - Full results

1. Nathan Earle 2:18:42
2. Dan McConnell 0:07
3. Mark O’Brien 0:09
7. Simon Yates GBR 0:20
50. Richard Lang GBR 4:00
76. Graham Briggs GBR 9:04