Cross: Webber storms to fine win at Culham Park


Location: Culham Park, Abingdon, Oxfordshire
Event: 6 January 2013

The venue was dry and the course, a very tricky one was around sections of the motor cross circuit and the flat field surrounding it. There were plenty of climbs and off camber turns to keep the riders on their toes all race.

The combined race for vet, juniors and seniors was very well attended and it wasn’t long before there were riders spread across the whole venue. A group of four started to ease away on the opening lap, with Matt and Sean were Darren Barclay (Artic Premier), Ben Lewis (Hackney GT) and Andy Taylor (Craven Energy).

With the leading bunch beginning to ease away the rest of the field were going to have to be content for minor places. There was however one race within the main race and that was in the vet category. With Sean Williams up at the front the race for the vet places was between Robin Wilmott (GA Cycles) and Will Girvan (North Hants RC) with the pair close together throughout the race.

So with Matt clear and building on his lead Darren and Sean were having a tussle for a couple of laps until Sean managed to ease away on his pursuit of Matt. Matt soon picked up his pace and the gap back to Sean and Darren was around 40secs with fourth place rider Andy Taylor now well back at 1min 30secs and fifth rider Ben Lewis at 2mins.

As the laps clicked down Matt’s lead over Sean was 50secs and he had time to comfortably change his bike in the pits, but Sean also needed a bike change with one lap to go when his rear wheel pulled out forcing him to change.

So the chequered flag greeted Matt with Sean 1min 38secs down and Darren third.

In the youth race Matt Clements (LVYCC) was strong enough to stay away from a chasing bunch to take the win by 55secs at the finish.

On the first lap Matt and Buanna Ball (Team MK) started to pull away from Charles Page (Hillingdon Slipstreamers) by 30secs with Conall Brown (Hemel Hempstead) 8secs further back and the fifth rider ahead of the rest was William Raymond (Welwyn Wheelers).

Despite the time differences changing the order stayed the same throughout the race.

The race for the under 12s was a contest between just three riders.

Once they sorted themselves out Angus Hawkins (PPV) soon started to build a good lead. Thomas Timberlake (Dyson Dunstable) took advantage of a poor start by Jay Allen but he was unable to catch Angus and by midway was 22 seconds down.

Jay now managed to pull through the field and was soon riding just behind Thomas. At the finish Angus took the win ahead of Thomas who need to finish second to claim a league win and put on a spurt to beat Jay by 10 seconds.

Provisional Results:

1st Matt Webber Hackney GT 58mins 43secs
2nd Sean Williams Wightlink Offshore @1min 38secs and 1st Vet
3rd Darren Barclay Artic Premier @2mins 35secs
4th Andy Taylor Craven Energy
5th Ben Lewis Hackney GT

1st Sarah Woods Wightlink Offshore and 1st Vet
2nd Kay Thompson Twickenham Wheelers
3rd Helen Taylor PM

1st Sean Williams
2nd Robin Wilmott GA Cycles
3rd Will Girvan North Hants RC

1st Jason Pitt AW Cycles
2nd Isaac Anstee Bedford Road CC
3rd Josh Mitchell Bicester Millennium

1st Matt Clements LVYCC
2nd Buanna Ball Team MK @55secs
3rd Charles Page Hillingdon Slipstreamers @1mins 40secs
4th Conall Brown Hemel Hempstead
5th William Brown Welwyn Wheelers

Under 10s
1st Anna Wadsworth PPV
2nd Joe Keeley Welwyn Wheelers
3rd Alexa Hawkins PPV

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.