Cross: Veteran Bryan wins in SRAM Notts and Derby League


Location: Bramcote Hills Park, Nottingham
Event: 27 October 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports
Photos: Ray Stuart

Reigning over-40s National Champion Jim Bryan (Zepnat RT) secured his first victory in this season’s SRAM Notts and Derby Cyclo-Cross League when he stormed to victory in round eight at Bramcote Hills Park in Nottingham on Saturday.

The 41-year-old Matlock-based rider was 40 seconds clear of his nearest rival, securing his first overall victory following third spot in last week’s race.

Bryan, who won last season’s National Trophy Series for the 40-49 age category as well as the National Championship in the same age band, took the win ahead of Clay Cross RT rider Gareth Whittall.

Just a second further back was a close battle for the final podium spot which was won by Andrew Stuart (Nottingham Clarion) who edged out Lee Shunburne (Fossa Racing) by a matter of inches.

Sherwood Pines’ rider Aaron Marshall was the best of the Under-23s in 13th spot, just holding off age group rival Lewis Tarney-Wilson (Ashfield RC) by inches, while top junior was Oliver Maxwell (VC Rutland).

Meanwhile, Jim Bryan’s team-mate at Zepnat RT, Diane Lee was celebrating another victory in the women’s race, having lapped every other rider. Her team-mate Melissa Mather was second, while Matlock CC’s Maz Heffron was third.


1 Jim Bryan (Zepnat RT) 5 laps in 50:52
2 Gareth Whittall (Clay Cross RT) @ 40sec
3 Andrew Stuart (Nottingham Clarion) @ 49sec
4 Lee Shunburne (Fossa Racing) @ same time
5 Ben Eedy (Empella) @ 59sec
6 Dave Ash (Nottingham Clarion) @ 1:24
7 James Furniss (Zepnat RT) @ 1:35
8 Rob Parkin (Buzz Cycles-Forme) @ 2:15
9 Nathan Miller (Buzz Cycles-Forme) @ 2:39
10 Paul Cox (Team Pedal Power) @ 2:52
Veterans: Jim Bryan. Under-23s: Aaron Marshall (Sherwood Pines). Juniors: Oliver Maxwell (VC Rutland).

1 Diane Lee (Zepnat RT) 41:00
2 Melissa Mather (Zepnat RT) @ 1 lap
3 Maz Heffron (Matlock CC)
4 Madeline Smith (Unattached)
5 Vivien Cox (
6 Lucy Gossage (TFN)

1 William Gascoyne (Matlock CC) 4 laps in 28:38
2 Tom Weeds (Derby Mercury RC) @ 45sec
3 Ollie Peckover (Nottingham Clarion) @ 1:12
4 Josh Waters (Mercia CC) @ same time
5 George Baker (Kings Cliffe Flyers) @ 2:48
6 Owyn Wallace (Sherwood Pines) @ 3:05

Under-14s: Harry Lewis (Sherwood Pines). Girls: Jess Willett (Sherwood Pines). Under-14 girls: Isabelle Boon (Belper BC).

1 Jenson Young (Pedalsport CC) 13:45
2 Joshua Scales (Derby Mercury RC) @ 31sec
3 Poppy Wildman (Nottingham Clarion) @ same time
Girls: Poppy Wildman.

1 Sam Gould (Matlock CC) 9:39
2 Ben Norton (Spalding CC) @ 22sec
3 Fred Shenton (Beeston CC) @ same time
Girls: Harriet Limb (Matlock CC)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.