Cross: Craig and Mahe win in Knog Muddy Hell


Location: Herne Hill Velodrome, London
Date: 27 October 2012

Finally, after three years with dry conditions, Knog Muddy Hell truly was a mud-fest. Plenty of rain leading up to the event, plus downpours on the night and the action of over 700 wheels, churning up the course created difficult conditions for competitors but great entertainment for spectators at the night of action at the Herne Hill Velodrome in London.

Course designer Phil Glowinski, created a smooth, flowing course, whilst maintaining the popular features of wall-ride, bridge, whoops, muddy corner and hurdles but it was the conditions which had the greatest effect on the results.

A confident Nick Craig knew that his years of experience at top level off-road riding would stand him in good stead. Fresh from his recent win at the (slightly warmer) Mountain Bike Tour of Langkawi, Nick indeed provided a master class in technique.

Though he was distanced in the sprint from the start, his superior bike handling soon saw him opening up a big gap with National Junior champion Hugo Robinson chasing. Hugo however suffered a mechanical as did many others, Ed McParland made a valiant effort to catch the veteran, but it was never going to happen and Nick took the £400 from Knog with a huge gap.

Three previous winners of the Women's event took to the line, and Louise Mahe took her second Knog Muddy Hell title with Claire Beaumont second, National track champion Corinne Hall did not repeat her podium finish instead Leona Kadir took third spot.

Supported by Vulpine cycle clothing the vets category saw a very competitive field, multiple Knog Muddy Hell winner Mick Bell could not repeat his usual top spot due to mud-induced mechanical issues and relinquished the top step of the podium to Kevin Knox of Vicious Velo.

Racing at the same time as the women and vets, 2012 saw the largest junior field in the history of the event with Chris McGovern the clear winner finishing up amongst the first few vets.

The ever popular Novice race had over 100 entries, the best fancy dress, two tandems (one pantomime horse) and the worst weather, this is when the rain hit and there were more than a few retirements. James Flury was best male and Lise Sorenson best female, both taking prizes from Cycelab.

The youth categories saw record levels of entries, organisers Rollapaluza claim that over 70 entry enquiries were received for the U12 event alone will look to accommodate more youngsters in 2013. In all over 350 racers took part with, despite the rain, hundreds of cheering spectators enjoying the racing, atmosphere, food, mulled cider, "Off-Road" Rollapaluza competition and bike polo skills try out.


1 Nick Craig
2 Ed McParland
3 Darren Barclay
4 Chris Metcalfe
5 William Thomson
6 Bruce Dalton
7 Richard Mardle
8 Jack Finch
9 Will Fooks
10 Uldis Karklins

1 Lousie Mahe
2 Claire Beaumont
3 Leona Kadir

1 Kevin Knox
2 John Lyons
3 Nick Walsh

1 Chris McGovern
2 James Wood
3 Ashley Dennis

Novice Male:
1 James Flury
1 Keith Brewster
3 John Coolahan

Novice Female:
1 Lise Sorensen
2 Lesley Auchterlonie
3 Hester Polak

1 Sam Titmarsh
2 Matt Clements
3 Thomas Finch

1 Luke Mitchie
2 George Finch
3 Freddie Argent

1 Noah Charlton
2 Charlie Craig
3 Aaron Freeman

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.