Cross: Three in a row for Fletcher in SRAM Notts and Derby League


Location: Alfreton, Derbyshire
Event: 13 October 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

David Fletcher of Orange Monkey-Cannondale decided to ride round six of the SRAM Notts and Derby League in Alfreton rather than in the first round of the National Trophy.

And his decision paid off as he took his third win in as many races in the series, this time in Alfreton, Derbyshire.

It was another comfortable win for the 23-year-old rider from Edwinstowe – he completed the six laps of the circuit in 48:22, 52 seconds of his closest rival, Oliver Watson of Derwent Valley ATC.

Oliver was six seconds ahead of third placed Andrew Stuart (Nottingham Clarion).

Although Fletcher chose not to compete in the first round of the National Trophy, which was held on Sunday October 14 in Abergavenny, he said he will take part in the second round.

After his round five win in the SRAM Notts and Derby League last week, he said: “I’m going to ride next week’s Notts and Derby race at Alfreton instead of the first round of the National Trophy, but I’ll be riding round two of the Trophy at Ipswich.”

The first veteran home was Dave Ash (Nottingham Clarion), who finished ninth overall. The top under 23 rider was Dave Nichols (Loughborough Students CC) and first junior was Harry Thompson (Leicester RC).

Diane Lee (Zepnat RT) followed her win last week up with another here in Alfreton as she led from Tracey Fletcher (VC Long Eaton) again.

In the youth races, Will Gascoyne (Matlock CC) and Rosie Wildman (Nottingham Clarion) were the victors with Calum Fernie (Nottingham Clarion) and Jess Willett (Sherwood Pines) taking victory in the under 14s.

In the under 12s, the two winners were Jake Norton (Spalding CC) and Poppy Wildman (Nottingham Clarion). The quickest in the under 9s were Sam Gould (Matlock CC) and Harriet Limb (Matlock CC).


1 David Fletcher (Orange Monkey-Cannondale) 48:22
2 Oliver Watson (Derwent Valley ATC) @ 52sec
3 Andrew Stuart (Nottingham Clarion) @1:08
4 Lee Shunburne (Matlock CC)
5 Rob Parkin (Buzz Cycles) both @1:42
6 Andy Naylor (Fossa Racing) @1:48
7 Chris Metcalf (Charge Bikes) @2:05
8 Paul Cox (Pedalpower) @2:30
9 Dave Ash (Nottingham Clarion)
10 Rob Partridge (Endura Racing) both @2:51
Juniors: Harry Thompson (Leicester RC). Under-23s: Dave Nichols (Loughborough Students CC). Veterans Dave Ash.
1 Diane Lee (Zepnat RT)
2 Tracey Fletcher (VC Long Eaton)
3 Maz Heffron (Matlock CC)
4 Rachel Walter (Hope Technology)
5 Sarah Kennedy (Matlock CC)
6 Sarah Naylor (Fossa Racing)
1 Will Gascoyne (Matlock CC) 28:39
2 Ollie Peckover (Nottingham Clarion) @28sec
3 Calum Fernie (Nottingham Clarion) @1:53
4 Kieran Howarth (Nottingham Clarion) @2:17
5 Harry Lewis (Sherwood Pines) @2:24
6 Owyn Wallace (Sherwood Pines)@2:30
Girls: Rosie Wildman (Nottingham Clarion). Under-14s: Calum Fernie. Under-14 girls: Jess Willett (Sherwood Pines).
1Jake Norton (Spalding CC) 16:59
2 Poppy Wildman (Nottingham Clarion) @6sec
3 Ellie Smith (Matlock CC) @24sec
4 Joshua Scales (Derby Mercury RC) @36sec
5 Finn Mansfield (Nottingham Clarion) @57sec
6 Tim Ellsmore (Matlock CC) @1:25
Girls: Poppy Wildman.
1 Sam Gould (Matlock CC) 7:56
2 Louis Swindell (Matlock CC) @41sec
3 Fred Shenton (Beeston CC) @47sec
Girls: Harriet Limb (Matlock CC).

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.