Cross: Fletcher wins again in SRAM Notts and Derby League


Location: Allestree Park, Derby
Event: 6 October 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports
Photos: Ray Stuart

Great Britain MTB international David Fletcher, who recently rode at the World Championships in Austria, made it two wins in two cross races when he won round five of the SRAM Notts and Derby League at Allestree Park in Derby on Saturday.

Fletcher, 23 and from Edwinstowe, rode a controlled race on his way to victory, crossing the line 22 seconds ahead of his nearest rival Andy Naylor (Fossa Racing), while Joe Kirkham (Hargroves Cycles) was another six seconds off the pace in third.

“It was good to get another win for the tally,” he said. “It’s only my second win of the season so far after I won the first round at Hardwick Hall.

“I didn’t get the greatest of starts, and I was a bit back down the field and had to pick my way through, but after about two and a half laps I hit the front and as soon as I got there I got a gap and steadily gained on the rest.

“I did just enough to hold the gap comfortably, but I wasn’t going to nail it and win by a massive margin, there didn’t seem any point.

“I’m going to ride next week’s Notts and Derby race at Alfreton instead of the first round of the National Trophy, but I’ll be riding round two of the Trophy at Ipswich.”

In other categories, Mike Young (Pedalsport CC) was best of the veterans in 14th overall, w2hile Diane Lee (Zepnat RT) was fastest woman.


1 David Fletcher (Orange Monkey-Cannondale) 5 laps in 50:53
2 Andy Naylor (Fossa Racing) @ 22sec
3 Joe Kirkham (Hargroves Cycles) @ 28sec
4 Jake Womersley (Sportscover-Altura) @ same time
5 Dave Nichols (LSCC) @ same time
6 Dieter Droger (Team Dirt Wheels) @ 53sec
7 Oliver Watson (Derwent Valley ATC) @ 1:01
8 Matt Barrett (Run and Ride) @ 1:12
9 Andrew Stuart (Nottingham Clarion) @ 1:47
10 Rob Parkin (Buzz Cycles) @ 2:13
Juniors: Joe Kirkham. Under-23s: Oliver Watson. Veterans: Mike Young (Pedalsport CC).

1 Diane Lee (Zepnat RT)
2 Tracey Fletcher (VC Long Eaton)
3 Sarah Naylor (Fossa Racing)
4 Maz Heffron (Matlock CC)
5 Keira McVitty (Buzz Cycles)
6 Christine Howard (Matlock CC)

1 Tom Weeds (Derby Mercury RC) 30:44
2 Josh Waters (Mercia CC) @ 2:48
3 Owyn Wallace (Sherwood Pines CC) @ 2:58
4 Abby Parkinson (RST Racing Team) @ 3:23
5 Calum Fernie (Nottingham Clarion) @ 4:03
6 Cameron Orr (Matlock CC) @ 4:29
Girls: Abby Parkinson. Under-14s: Owyn Wallace. Under-14 girls: Isabelle Boon (Belper BC).

1 Joshua Scales (Derby Mercury RC) 16:16
2 Poppy Wildman (Nottingham Clarion) @ 24sec
3 Ellie Smith (Matlock CC) @ same time
4 Alex Coleston-Shields (Lichfield) @ 38sec
5 Lewis Rivers (Nottingham Clarion) @ same time
6 Christian Boon (Belper BC) @ 1:09
Girls: Poppy Wildman.

1 Sam Gould (Matlock CC) 6:34
2 Louis Swindell (Matlock CC) @ 23sec
3 Otto Chilton (Derby Mercury RC) @ 38sec
Girls: Harriet Limb (Matlock CC).

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.