Cross: South West League double for Bjergfelt

Cross: South West League double for Bjergfelt


Location: Court Fields Community School, Wellington, Somerset
Event: 16 September 2012
Report: John Wilkinson/Snowdon Sports
Photo: Graham Robins

First-race winner Will Bjergfelt (Cycle Premier-Kovert) completed a quick double with another emphatic victory in the second round of the South West league at Wellington.

The Bristol-based 33-year-old was in a class of his own as he showed his racing fitness from a full season on the road and finished two minutes clear of junior Matt Hargroves (Hargroves Cycles) after just over an hour of racing.

Steve Davis (Southfork Racing), second in the opening round, took third place after a good tussle with Hargroves, finishing seven seconds down, with a gap of five minutes to Tim Carpenter (Elite Velo) in fourth.

Winner Will Kelly (Mid Devon CC) and Charlie Meredith (Taw Velo) repeated their first-round one-two in the youth race, and under-10 Freddy Birchill (Mid Devon CC) also made it two in a row in the under-12 event.

“I’m really pleased with how I’m going at the moment,” said Bjergfelt. “I rode the Wessex League race the day before and had a mechanical, but still managed to get third, and now I’ve won the South West League again, so I’m delighted.

“I’m in good form and looking forward to the Rapha Series and National Trophy races. I want to have a really good result in the National Trophy Series this year. Last year I started from the back of the grid, but I want top five or top three this year.

“I proved in the Tour Series that I can go head to head with the likes of Paul Oldham.

“The South West League is a training ground for bigger things, but it’s great for me as I want to hit the first Trophy in Abergavenny with everything perfect and these races let me test everything out.”


1 Will Bjergfelt (Cycle Premier-Kovert) 1-03-41
2 Matt Hargroves (Hargroves Cycles) at 2-01
3 Steve Davis (Southfork Racing) at 2-08
4 Tim Carpenter (Elite Velo) at 7-03
5 Dexter Hurlock (Certini) at 7-12
6 Stuart Pickering (One And All) at 7-14
7 Kamden Reedy (Jetset Racing) at 7-25
8 Roy Wyle-Smith (Elite Velo) at 7-31
9 James Bovey (Mid Devon CC) at 7-35
10 Pete Dawe (Southfork Racing) at 7-39
Junior: Matt Hargroves. Veteran: Tim Carpenter. Woman: Holly Gamble.

1 Will Kelly (Mid Devon CC) 30-39
2 Charlie Meredith (Taw Velo) at 41 sec
3 Ryan White (1st Chard Wheelers) at 1-30
4 Harry Birchill (Mid Devon CC) at 1-33
5 Michael Hasting (Hardy Bikes) at 4-40
6 Harry Meredith (Taw Velo) at 5-23
Under-14: Ryan White. Girl: Ruby Bond (1st chard Wheelers).

1 Freddy Birchill (Mid Devon CC) n10-27
2 Max Hines at 59 sec
3 Ross Pratt (Mid Devon CC) at 1-14
4 Rowan Ellis (Mid Devon CC) at 1-43
5 Sam Ponter at 1-44
6 Evan Richards (1st Chard Wheelers) at 1-49.
Under-10: Freddy Birchill. Under-8: Solomon Drury (Mid Devon CC). Girl: Hannah Parsons (Taunton CC).

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.