Cross: Barclay wins in London League


Location: Wilmington School, Dartford
Event: 22 January 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Darren Barclay was just five seconds ahead of his nearest rival in winning the latest round of the London League at Wilmington School in Dartford, having had a race-long tussle with league leader Matt Webber (London Phoenix) in Sunday’s event.

Barclay edged ahead by just five seconds to secure only his second victory in the league, but league leader Webber came home second and secured enough points to maintain his lead with two rounds left.

Webber beat title rival Sylvain Garde (La Fuga-Sigma Sport) by 48 seconds to boost his bid for the title but – like all riders – had to contend with a challenging course designed by organiser Paul Warner which attracted a bumper line-up for the race.

“It was great to have 138 riders, which is far more than we were expecting,” said Warner. “Even in the Under-10s we had more than 30 riders, and another 30 in the Under-12s so it was quite a big turnout for the kids as well as the seniors.

“I think people must like my courses, they do tend to be a bit more technical, rather than plodding around a field. Today’s course had a few slaloms and integrated open sections and wooded sections, just to keep the riders on their toes!”

Barclay and Webber were neck and neck for most of the race, and it was only in the last 100 yards that 39-year-old Brighton rider Barclay edged ahead, leaving Londoner Webber to take second.

Behind them, Garde took third, holding off Team Toachim’s Ciaran O’Grady to give himself a vital few points advantage over O’Grady, who is third overall.


1 Darren Barclay (Arctic RT) 56:06
2 Matt Webber (London Phoenix) at 5sec
3 Sylvain Garde (La Fuga Sigma Sport) at 53sec
4 Ciaran O'Grady (Team Toachim) @ 1:44
5 Jules Birk (VC Londres) @ 1:45
6 Mick Bell (London Fire Brigade CC) @ 2:49
7 Jack Finch (Park Mall RT) @ 2:52
8 Paul Sheers (Vicious Velo) @ 2:57
9 Kevin Knox (Vicious Velo) @ 3:00
10 Chris Dick (London Phoenix) @ 3:19
Juniors: Jack Finch (Park Mall RT). Women: Leona Kadir (La Fuga-Sigma Sport). Veterans: Mick Bell (London Fire Brigade CC). Youth: Calum Anderton (VC Deal). Under 14s: Anthony Anderson (Kingston Wheelers). Girls: Gretel Warner (WXC MTB UK). Under 12s: Luke Mitchie (Team Darenth).

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.