Cross: Drake wins again in North West League


Giles Drake took victory in the final round of the North West League at Beacon Country Park in Upholland on Sunday, while Paul Bethell made it a one-two for Team Elite with second place.

Ed Rollason was on hand with the camera at the final round of the NW Cyclo-Cross Association 2011-12 League, held at Beacon Country Park near Skelmersdale in Lancashire. Good weather meant a bumper entry and a great day for pics!




1 Giles Drake Team Elite

2 Paul Bethell Team Elite

3 James Dalton Salsa Factory RT

4 Martin Woffindin Cycle Sport Pendle

5 Roy Davies Team Elite

6 Adrian Lawrence Team Bglobal

7 Jerrod Hartley Horwich CC

8 Nick Shaughnessy Dutch and Wolf

9 Sean Beswick Zepnat

10 Mick Style Manchester Wheelers

11 Andrew Brindle Horwich CC

12 Luke Beswick Buxton CC

13 Dave Headon Horwich CC

14 Scott Wilson Manchester Wheelers

15 Tony Sowden Northlancs RC

16 Steve Wood Oldham Ruffyeds

17 Ashton Payne Hope Factory Racing

18 Pete Howarth Withington Wheelers

19 Chris Belsham York Cycleworks

20 Becky Preece Red Rose Olympic

21 David George Team Townend

22 Dean Smith Team Elite

23 Ian Ashworth Cycle Sport Pendle

24 Ian Kendall Liverpool Century

25 Stephen Cooke Harry Middleton CC

26 Kevan Underhill Weaver Valley CC

27 Niel Evans Manchester weelers

28 Pat Rowland UA

29 Simon Dean

30 Tim Kelly Horwich CC

31 Ray Pugh Liverpool Mercury ( Dolan)

32 Simon Cunningham Manchester Wheelers

33 Gus French Hayfield Hub

34 Martin Rogers BNECC

35 David Ryder UA

36 Graham Kennerley Lancaster CC

37 Rob Allen Leisure Lakes

38 Jim Seymour UA

39 Martin Pollitt

40 Dave Kent St Helens CRC

41 Kris Spreckley Withington Wheelers

42 Mike Wilcock Red Rose Olympic

43 John Rutter Cycle Sport Pendle

44 Colin Humphreys Red Rose Olympic

45 Peter Payton Cycle Sport Pendle

46 Duncan Astle Here Come the Belgians

47 Darren Palfreyman Oldham Century

48 John Gillmore East L'pool Whlrs

49 Dave Martin BYCA

50 Alan Cook BNECC

51 Mark Robinson

52 Geoff Gararham

53 David Hollingworth Red Rose Olympic

54 Larry Walls UA

55 Alan Shuttleworth Altrincham RC

56 Karen Payton Cycle Sport Pendle

57 Bill Smith Cleveleys RC

58 Mark Lenderyou Manchester Wheelers

59 Bob Clarke Red Rose Olympic

60 Peter Watson Horwich CC

61 Michael Aspden

62 David Halman Altrincham RC

63 David Wooster

64 Len Woffindin Sportcity Velo

65 Isalineknele

66 Gareth Field

67 Steve Cooper Warrington ??

68 Steve Lunn

69 Gary Tumilty UA

70 Jenni Rowlands Liverpool Mercury ( Dolan)


1 Robert Rogers Birkenhead North End CC

2 Oliver Payton Cycle Sport Pendle

3 Joseph Peatfield Bolton Hot Wheels CC

4 Adam Hartley Eastlands Velo

5 Matthew Walls Velocity

6 Thomas Clarke Red Rose Olympic

7 Jamie Helsby Eastlands Velo

8 Archie Stewart Mossley CRT

9 Martha Gill Bolton Hot Wheels CC

10 George Taylor Cog Set

11 Andrew Hathaway Bolton Hot Wheels

12 Sam Hollingworth Red Rose Olympic

13 Rosa Martin BYCA

14 Joe Baldwin Salt Ayre Cog Set

15 Bailey Payne Cycle Sport Pendle

16 Harry French Cycle Sport Pendle

17 Caroline Humphreys Red Rose Olympic

18 Thomas Payton Cycle Sport Pendle

19 Sam Baldwin Salt Ayre Cog Set


1 Craig Rogers BNECC

2 Alistair Leivers BYCA

3 Nathan Hawthorn Cycle Sport Pendle

4 Dexter Sparrow BYCA

5 Oliver Snodden Sherwood Pines

6 Cory Edmondson Cycle Sport Pendle

7 Lewis Hartley Eastlands Velo

8 Jack Barlow Cycle Sport Pendle

9 Dominic Rutter Cycle Sport Pendle

10 Isaac Peatfield Bolton Hotwheels

11 Georgia Savory Cycle Sport Pendle

12 Tyler Koch Bolton Hotwheels

13 Nicole Clarke Port Sunlight Wheelers

14 Eve Martin BYCA

15 Ben Wilcock Red Rose Olympic

16 Thomas Wood Oldham Ruffyeds

17 Alfie Payne Cycle Sport Pendle

18 Aiden Lawrence Team Bglobal

19 Ben Peatfield Bolton Hotwheels

20 Brendan Thompson Liverpool Century R. C.

21 Shannon Hawthorn Cycle Sport Pendle

22 Sam Kendall Liverpool Century R. C.

23 Tilly Barlow Cycle Sport Pendle

24 Emma McNulty St. Helens

25 Andrew Clarke Port Sunlight Wheelers

26 Carys Field Ribble Valley

27 Alex McNulty St. Helens

28 Isobel Ware St. Helens

29 Ephrahim Ashworth Cycle Sport Pendle

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.